World History - History - Primary Sources - LibGuides at Cape Fear Community College

Selected Books

The Ancient near East: historical sources in translation
Call Number: Wilm Circulating Books DS 62.2 .A63 2006
Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents
Call Number: Wilm Reference Books CB 69 .D35 2009
ISBN: 0313338981
The Holocaust
Call Number: Wilm Circulating Books D 804.19 .H55 2006
ISBN: 0780809351
Primary sourcebook series
Milestone Documents in World History: Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped the World
Call Number: Wilm Reference Books D 5 .M55 2010
4 volumes
Covers 2350 BC to 200 AD
Milestone Documents of World Religions : Exploring Traditions of Faith Through Primary Sources by David M. Fahey (General Editor)
Call Number: Wilm Reference Books BL 74 .M56 2011
ISBN: 9780979775888
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
3 volumes
World War I: Primary Documents on Events From 1914 to 1919
Call Number: Wilm Circulating Books D 521 .C587 2008

World History

Take care when using Internet sites for primary sources. Most sources contain both primary and secondary texts. Be sure you have properly identified your document.

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
"documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government." Ancient times to the 21st century
British History Online
Contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
more...less...
Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust
East Asian History Sourcebook
This resource is a subset of the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook and the Internet Modern History Sourcebook plus additional texts and links.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
more...less...
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
EyeWitness to History.com
"From the Ancient World through the 20th Century"
Genesis Guide to Sources in Women's History
Resources in women's history.
Internet African History Sourcebook
This resource is a subset of the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook and the Internet Modern History Sourcebook.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
From human origins to early Christianity. Includes the near east, Egypt, Greece and Rome. Has translations of many texts.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
From late antiquity to the Age of Exploration. Includes end of the classical world, Byzantium, Renaissance, and the Reformation. Has translations of many texts.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Western history from the Reformation through the 20th century. Includes English translations for many texts.
Perseus Collection: Greek and Roman Materials
Includes English translations for many documents.
more...less...
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University
Perseus Collection: Renaissance Materials
Includes English translations for many documents.
more...less...
From the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University
Women's History Sourcebook
This resource is a subset of the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook and the Internet Modern History Sourcebook.
World War II Resources
"Original documents regarding all aspects of the war."
more...less...
Originated by the Pearl Harbor Working Group

eHRAF [Human Relations Area Files] from Yale University

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window

eHRAF World Cultures includes materials on nearly 400 cultures, past and present, all over the world. The database is unique in that the information from books, journal articles and other sources is organized by cultures and ethnic groups, and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

More eHRAF Video Tutorials
Browse Cultures (3:29 minutes)
Browse Subjects (2:46 minutes)
Advanced Search (5:09 minutes)