LibGuides: ESL: Language Practice & Improvement

Language Resources

Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
Learn a new language or build language skills in over 110 languages. Includes American Sign Language (ASL) and English for foreign-language speakers (ESL). Get the most out of Transparent Language Online by viewing our tutorial.

SIRS

SIRS This link opens in a new window
SPECIAL FEATURES :
* Search either by keyword or a list of pro/con topics
* Translation options for 11 target languages
* MP3 files to listen to the article
* Set a Lexile range to choose articles with a more-advanced or less-advanced vocabulary.

SIRS provides information selected by the SIRS editorial staff for students. Information includes topical pro/con coverage of current social and cultural issues, resources by and about the U.S. government, and events in the news.

View a PowerPoint SIRS Tutorial to learn more.

What Is a Lexile Range ?

Lexile scores for materials written in English equate the readability of the material to the average grade-level reading abilities of American students. They can guide non-native speakers to reading material that is easier to comprehend or to more difficult material to stretch their language learning.

Approximate Lexile ranges related to grade levels

BR = below first grade
Grade 1	200 - 400
Grade 2	300 - 500
Grade 3	420 - 700
Grade 4	600 - 830
Grade 5	800 - 920
Grade 6	850 - 1010
Grade 7	930 - 1070
Grade 8	1000 - 1120
Grade 9	1020 - 1120
Grade 10	1100 - 1200
Grade 11	1130 - 1230
Grade 12	1200 - 1310
College (Year one & two)	1200 - 1450
College (Year three & four)	1300 - 1500
Graduate School	1480 - 1700

Language Learning DVDs

Inglés Aprendizaje del Idioma en DVD
Call Number: Wilm DVDs PE 1129 .S8 I54 2008
La calidad del video y lo más avanzado de la tecnología interactiva hace que este programa sea simple y accesible para que todos aprendan y se diviertan. Perfecto para viajeros, familias, personas de negocios y estudiantes.
Learning English : Steps 1-2-3
Call Number: Wilm DVDs PE 1128 .L437 2006
Step 1 (Discs 1, 2 & 3)
In step 1 you'll start off with the verb "to be" and learn to master: pronouns; contractions; questions and answers; time expressions and more.
Learning English : Steps 1-2-3
Call Number: Wilm DVDs PE 1128 .L437 2006
Step 2 (Discs 4, 5 & 6)
Covers conjugating verbs in the various present, past and future tenses; making commands and requests; and much more
Learning English : Steps 1-2-3
Call Number: Wilm DVDs PE 1128 .L437 2006
Step 3 (Discs 7, 8 & 9)
Focuses on using English in the workplace: communication with your coworkers and supervisors; personnel issues; telephone fundamentals; job interviews; raises; promotions and more.
ESL Easy English : Vol. 1, Understanding Basic Conversation
Call Number: Wilm DVDs PE 1112.7 .E75 2003
One 50-minute disc.
Covers telling time and using yes & no / Pronouncing and spelling names / Locating objects and people / Using singular and plural nouns / Prepositions, pronouns, and adjectives / Formal and informal introductions / Simple topical conversations.
Connect with English
Call Number: Wilm DVDs PE 1128 .A2 C69 1998
5 dscs
Through the story of Rebecca, an aspiring singer on a journey across America, Connect With English touches on life's important issues. Each episode features dialogue that is slightly slowed down and subtly simplified. Key lines are repeated, idioms paraphrased, and important events retold. There are constant visual clues to meaning, such as written signs, notes, and documents.
Includes 50 15-minute programs on 5 discs.

Google Translator

Choose your language to translate the page!

Suggested Websites

Resources for ESL/EFL Teachers
On this page you will find several simple yet fun games, printable activities, and ideas for injecting fun into your ESL classes. Whether teaching younger, beginner-level students or older, more advanced students, these games are tried and true ways to make the learning process a little more enjoyable. There is a link on the homepage for Adult ESL.
BBC Learning English
Audio, video and print demonstrations, exercises and quizzes. Sections include business and general English, grammar & pronunciation, news feeds & phrases in the news (form the UK), and cultural resources.
Business English Exercises
Lessons are available in grammar, vocabulary for many routine activities and interactions.
Learn English, Feel Good
Vocabulary exercises covering: food, sports, holidays, jobs, and more.
TESL Journal Pronunciation
Selected links for students include: Bilingual (Pages in 2 Languages), Culture, Daily Study, Dialogs, Dictionaries and Reference Materials, Games , Crossword Puzzles, Hangman, Grammar and English Usage, Idioms and Slang, Listening, MP3 Files & Podcasts, Online Textbooks, Penpals and Communicating with Others , Pronunciation, Spelling, Student Projects, Survival English, Travel. Treasure Hunts (WebQuests), Video, Vocabulary Lists
more...less...
The Journal editors identify links requiring Java, JavaScript, Flash or Shockwave and warn that some sites require you to register an email address which means you may begin to receive junk mail.

Listening & Speaking Audio

English for the Real World for Speakers of Spanish [Playaway]
Call Number: Wilm AudioBooks PE 1129 .S8 E64 2007
Improve Your Speech : American English [Playaway]
Call Number: Wilm AudioBooks PE 1135 .C38 2009
Inglés Básico [4CDs]
Call Number: Wilm AudioBooks PE 1129 .S8 S27 2004
Also has Dictionary and Phrase Book
Inglés : Más Allá de lo Básico [4 CDs]
Call Number: Wilm AudioBooks PE 1129.58 .L37 2005
Inglés : Un Curso de Idioma Musical para los que Tienen Prisa [Playaway]
Call Number: Wilm AudioBooks PE 1129 .S8 I645 2008