This is the "Home" page of the "Culinary Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Culinary Technology   Tags: culinary, food, food safety, nutrition, restaurant  

Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cfcc.edu/culinary Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Search the Catalog for Books and Videos

 

Locating Books, DVDs, and Other Library Materials

Search in the Library’s online catalog for books, DVDs and other library materials. Perform a general keyword search for your topic. Some useful keywords are listed below. Use the asterisk * to expand your search.

 

Restaurant* (Retrieves restaurant and restaurants)

Chef*  (Retrieves chef and chefs)

Cook* (retrieves cook, cooks, cooking, cookbook, cookery, etc.)

Food

Names of individual foods such as poultry, pasta, cheese, etc.

For types of cuisines, perform a search for cook* and the cuisine. For example: cook* Mexican  or cook* French

 

 

Finding Books and DVDs on the Shelf

Most of the Culinary materials can be found in the following call number ranges:

 

TX341-641 Nutrition. Foods and food supply

TX642-840 Cooking

TX851-885 Dining-room service

TX901-946.5 Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service

TX950-953 Taverns, barrooms, saloons

TX955-985 Building operation and housekeeping

 

Searching for Journal, Magazine and Newpaper Articles

  • Business Source Complete  
      

    Provides full text coverage for a great number of the major titles in the area of business. Business Source Complete also provides book citations, some company profile data, SWOT analysis, and a variety of reports.
 

Locating Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Locating Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles

The best way to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles is to use one (or more) of the databases provided by the Library. There are several databases which would be helpful. Business Source Complete is an excellent database for research in the culinary and hospitality industries. It is always your go-to resource.  Academic Search Complete and MasterFile Complete are also good choices.

 

Helpful Hints

Limit to “full text” for immediate access to your articles.

Remember that most articles, which are not full text in the database, can still be obtained for little or no cost. (See Interlibrary Loan section below)

To reduce the number of articles retrieved, add limits to your search.

Limit by publication date to retrieve the most current info.

Limit by subject term BUT be careful that your term is a valid subject heading in the database.

Limit document type to ARTICLE. Note: Not all databases offer this option.

Ask a librarian for help. Contact the staff at the Reference desk, call

910-362-7034 or send an e-mail to the reference desk.

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Sometimes the Library does not own the magazine or journal you need and the article(s) are not available online.  We can obtain most articles from another library at little or no cost. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance or fill out an online ILL request form at http://cfcc.edu/lrc/forms/loanRequestBooks.html

 

 

Selected Books

Cover Art
Billion-Dollar Fish: the untold story of Alaska pollock
Call Number: Circulating SH 351 .W32 B35 2013
ISBN: 022602234X
Publication Date: 2013-05-15
"Alaska pollock is everywhere. If you're eating fish but you don't know what kind it is, it's almost certainly pollock. "


Cover Art
The atlas of food : who eats what, where, and why
Call Number: Ref TX 353 .M55 2008



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip