Cal Shepard
Sue Henry
What is your library doing about purchasing paper books? How has circulation changed over the past few years? What kind of demand are you getting from students and faculty for materials?
Summary of the Roundtable:
The general conversation was that we all are trying to figure out the best practice for collecting at our own institution. Some of us are investigating the E-Book collections from various vendors; some of us already have E-Book collections that are not being used very well; most of us are continuing to collect hard copy (paper) books. Several libraries are working on weeding projects that are helping identify the areas in the collection that need updating.
Tara Guthrie
In early 2012, Central Carolina Community College Library purchased Nook Color E-Readers and implemented an E-Reader service in the fall semester. This roundtable discussion will delve into the details, options, and issues associated with E-Reader services.
Dave Trudeau
With an ever increasing number of NCCCS librarians assuming leadership roles within the North Carolina Library Association (NCLA), a roundtable discussion led by a group of these leaders will focus on why individuals are seeking these opportunities, the benefits gained from this level of involvement, and how their participation in NCLA can benefit NCCCLRA, CCCLA, NCCCS Library Services, and the state's libraries as a whole.
Summary of the Roundtable:
Thanks for attending the "Assuming Leadership Roles within the North Carolina Library Association (NCLA)" Roundtable. For more information on NCLA membership, events, and leadership opportunities, see the NCLA website @ http://www.nclaonline.org/
Don't forget to mark your calendars for the NCLA 2013 Biennial Conference, October 15-18, in Winston-Salem.
Got questions about NCLA leadership opportunities? Contact:
Dave Trudeau (Vance-Granville) | trudeaud@vgcc.edu | NCLA Leadership Institute / NCLA Executive Board / NCLA Conference Planning Committee
Rodney Lippard (Rowan-Cabarrus) | rodney.lippard@rccc.edu | NCLA Leadership Institute / NCLA Executive Board / NCLA Conference Planning Committee
Julie Humphrey (Durham Tech) | humphreyj@durhamtech.edu | NCLA Leadership Institute
Julie Obst (Central Piedmont) | Julie.Obst@cpcc.edu | NCLA Leadership Institute
Catherine Tingelstad (Pitt) | ctingelstad@email.pittcc.edu | NCLA Leadership Institute
Cathy Campbell (Craven) | campbelc@cravencc.edu | NCLA Executive Board
Christy Earp (Wilkes) | Wilkes | christy.earp@wilkescc.edu | NCLA Executive Board
Harry Cooke (Gaston) | cooke.harry@gaston.edu | NCLA Conference Planning Committee
Lisa Shores (Rowan-Cabarrus) | lisa.shores@rccc.edu | NCLA Leadership Institute / NCLA Executive Board
Mark King (Craven) | kingm@cravencc.edu | NCLA Leadership Institute
Penny Sermons (Beaufort County) | pennys@beaufortccc.edu | NCLA Executive Board
Sherwin Rice (Bladen) | srice@bladen.cc.nc.us | NCLA Executive Board
Deana Guido and Staci Wilson
MOOCs (massive open online courses) are one of the hottest educational trends of the past year. Librarians play an integral part in shaping instructional delivery in higher education and have a voice in sound pedagogy. Join your colleagues for a roundtable discussion outlining what MOOCs are, how libraries can use them, and what the long term implications are for higher education.
Presentation documents requested
Carmen Blanton
This discussion will focus on benefits and challenges of serving an Early College High School population on a community college campus.
Tonya Minor
At this table, the talk will be all about serials! What's up with serials at your school? Have you gone all digital? Do your issues circulate? Do you still have microform? Come join the conversation.
Presentation documents requested
Mike Crumpton and Nora Bird
The Handbook for Community College Librarians was written by two former community college librarians who worked with many NCCCLRA members in achieving this goal. The book is meant to capture the diverse nature and highly dynamic environment of community colleges and community college librarians. Not only is such a publication unique in the profession but its research foundation comes from the efforts of many librarians and libraries associated with NCCCLRA. The presenters will discuss the path the authors took to get the book published, share some of the highlights prior to publication, and recognize many of the folks present who influenced and contributed to this publication.
Carrie Moran
This presentation identifies how to use your strengths, be flexible, and stretch yourself as a librarian in a community college library. These skills will be paired with concrete examples of how each skill has been used by librarians at Cleveland Community College to enhance the services provided to our patrons. Participants will leave this presentation with strategies for improving outreach to students and faculty, enhancing in person and online library instruction, and partnering with other campus departments.
Visit Carrie's blog at http://carriemoran.wordpress.com
Heather Klein & Christy Earp
This session will provide an overview of the small business and career resources provided by NC LIVE. Christy Earp will then offer an example of how community college LRCs can offer further support to job seekers and small businesses, simply by introducing relevant NC LIVE resources to other departments on their campus.
NC LIVE Training Page on the State Library Train Station
NC LIVE Career Resources
NC LIVE Business Resources
More information about the Small Business Center Network presentations
Cathy Burwell, Katrina Roman & Alvin Coleman
A common problem for science instructors and librarians alike is how to introduce beginning college students to locating, reading and incorporating scholarly articles from science journals into their research. A search of the phrase "how to read a scientific article," yields thousands of suggestions from Rice, Purdue, Arizona, Florida International, Michigan State -- even Science Buddies and YouTube -- but it's more difficult and time-consuming than it appears. This session will highlight library/classroom projects and resources, discussing how they are impacting student attitudes and work quality.
Melissa Smith
In this hands-on workshop explore Edmodo, a free social media platform designed for educators, by creating an account and interacting with other participants. This program will introduce the key features of Edmodo and highlight the social collaboration integration that makes it stand apart from other Learning Management Systems like Blackboard and Moodle. Discover a variety of innovative and engaging ways Edmodo can be used to promote student and teacher interaction that students love!
Beth Kaylor, Melissa Raymer, Susan DeMarco, and Jacob Deininger
This presentation will present the results of a multiyear study of high school students working on required graduation projects to see if assistance from college and university librarians improved students' research comfort, encouraged students to use other libraries in the community and/or aided recruitment for the lical community college and university.
Mary Lane & Bonnie Toenniessen
In response to an obvious need for basic computer instruction as noted by our librarians, we decided to offer half hour workshops daily, in the evenings, and on Saturdays at every campus. The first class describes the basic keys on the keyboard and how to do basic functions, like using caps and number keys, and using a flashdrive. The second class describes how to create a term paper using the MLA Style. This class highlights setting margins, double spacing, headers and footnotes, etc. The third class uses all the functions learned previously in order to navigate the library web page and to learn the basics of searching.
Deanna Lewis and Orangel Daniels
There is substantial literature on the second class citizenship of part-time/adjunct faculty in higher education. They are often perceived as less invovled in the institution by both administrators and other faculty members. For their part, adjunct faculty feel overlooked and under-appreciated. How can the academic librarian help bridge the gap between the institution and the adjunct faculty? At CFCC Library, we created a LibGuide to pull together all the available information for adjunct faculty on our campus. This presentation will provide a community college administrator's view of adjunct faculty and share the library's processes and the resulting LibGuide.
Alan Unsworth
This session will focus on how to make simple and complex search boxes to embed on library websites. Participants will learn how to create a simple search box for their CCLINC library catalog as well as tabbed search boxes allowing for quick searching of electronic resources. In addition, there will be discussion of how to create persistent links to CCLINC search results pages, call number browsing, the "My Account" page, and more.
Cathy Burwell
Do you believe a decline in circulation is inevitable? We don't. Come to share your experiences with displays, promotions, hands-on reference, special circulation categories, blogs, book talks, clubs and more.
Angela Davis & Melanie Gnau
Library orientation for ACA students at Pitt Community College has evolved from a traditional tour into an online self-guided module. See how the Library has combined elements of Moodle, LibGuides, and video tutorials to create a library orientation package that better serves the needs of students, instructors, and librarians.
Anne Pemberton & Laura Wiegand
Online tutorials can be an important part of teaching students information literacy skills, especially since many students will never receive direct instruction from a librarian during their time in college. Creating effective library tutorials can be made easier when you know the best tools and the right processes for the job. UNCW Randall Library's Tutorials Committee will provide an overview of the tools, many freely available, used to create their online tutorials, best practices for tutorial creation, and methods for providing access to the tutorials and discuss their team approach.
David Wright & Catherine Lee
Currently, there are numerous challenges to building both useful and used library collections in community colleges. These challenges include declining or flat budgets, changing formats, college purchasing policies, deselection processes, space and display issues, dynamic curricula, the role of consortia, changing user expectations, etc. In this session, two librarians will discuss best practices for collection development in their libraries and engage attendees to share some of their ideas for building and maintaining collections that are both "useful and used."
Jean Snider & Joy Childs
Today's information- and media-rich culture has changed the landscape of learning environments and created competition for learners' attention. E-learning authoring software provides instructors and facilitators the tools to create dynamic, interactive learning environments and meet the needs of 21st century learners. This presentation will demonstrate how to quickly transform one-dimensional materials into an interactive and engaging learning experience utilizing popular E-learning authoring software.
Sample e-Learning Project (created in Articulate Storyline)
Chapin Brinegar
Despite the recent growth in adult learners' interest in online and self-directed learning, many institutions are experiencing high attrition rates. This attrition has created a need to develop instruction that will assist adult learners with goal setting, self-assessment, and self-direction. This session will explore the ARCS Model of Motivational Design, and provide you with useful tactics and strategies for enhancing learning materials in the areas of attention, relevance, confidence and satisfaction.
Contact Alan Unsworth at unswortha@surry.edu for presentation slides.