LibGuides: Art History by Place: Start Here

Selected Web Sites

Art History Resources
Links to worldwide art from prehistoric to 21st century.
Artcyclopedia
Search for an artist or specific work of art or browse by artist, medium, subject, nationality, art movement or women artists.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Produced by the Metropolitan Museum of Art and presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history.
SmartHistory (Kahn Academy)
SmARThistory is a multi-media resource for art history which provides access to essays, images, and video materials. It is searchable by artist, era, style or themes and includes links to pertinent scholarly and museum sites.

Browsing Books by Call Number

Most of the Library's art books will have call numbers beginning with N though some useful books will have call numbers beginning with T.

N Visual arts (general)
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, design, illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media (includes printmaking & engraving, etc.)
NK Decorative arts (includes ceramics)
NX Arts in general
TP TP 785-869 Clay industries, ceramics, glass
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts (includes metal working and fiber arts)

Selected Books About the History of Art

Art : Over 2,500 Works from Cave to Contemporary
Call Number: Wilm Circulating Books NX 440 .A77 2008
Provides samples of all forms of art by period with with signinicant themes and includes biographies of key artists.
The Art Atlas
Call Number: North Circulating Books N 5300 .A77 2008
ISBN: http://library.cfcc.edu/record=b1083925~S1*eng
Uses maps to present world art in all forms from ancient times to the present.
Mirror of the World: A New History of Art
Call Number: Wilm Circulating Books N 5300 .B428 2007
Provides a global perspective to art around the world through the ages.

Search the CFCC Library Catalog

Advanced Search

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASE

Articles -- millions of them -- from scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines and newspapers.

Questions about how to use ProQuest? Take a look at these Helpful Videos.

Art Dictionaries

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
Call Number: Wilm Reference Books N 7560 .H34 2008
ISBN: 0813343933
Publication Date: 2007-12-25
Relates in a succinct and readable way the themes, sacred and secular, on which the repertoire of Western art is based.
The Language of Art from A to Z: Writ in Plain English
Call Number: Wilm Circulating Books N 33 .L346 1997
ISBN: 0962014737
Publication Date: 1997-01-01