Ebooks

Find eBooks with Summon (Search Display)

ABC CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes large a collection of slave narratives.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Background information from encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Dogwood Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of audiobooks and eBooks. Content can be enjoyed on your mobile device by downloading the free Libby app in your app store. Visit the FAQ page to find out more about the apps.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
This resource contains scholarly eBook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction titles on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. There are no limits on concurrent multi-user access to ebrary titles, and most titles can be downloaded and read via the Ebook Central Reader and on the Bluefire Reader app for Android and iOS.
eBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full text reference and scholarly ebooks.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Twenty-three electronic versions of reference works covering various subjects.
Home Grown eBook Collection (NC Live) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from North Carolina publishers and authors. Includes fiction, non fiction and poetry. *Click "Continue as a guest" to access content. If you want to place items on your virtual bookshelf, you can create a free profile.*
Hoopla This link opens in a new window
Formerly RBdigital. Access to thousands of audiobooks and ebooks.

If you don’t have a FREE hoopla account:
--Click the "hoopla" link or download the hoopla app.
--Register with your student email address/password.
--Type "NC LIVE" as your library.
--Enter your CFCC ID# in the library card space and choose a random four digit pin.
--Browse and borrow from hoopla’s collection!
JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.
Mometrix eLibrary This link opens in a new window
FREE TEAS, CNA, TOEFL, ASVAB, and CDL practice exams. Links within this resource to optional additional study aides (such as flash cards) may require purchase.
Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks This link opens in a new window
Straightforward and authoritative ebooks on consumer health topics.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Free eBooks. Downloadable ebooks no longer in copyright.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers.

Suggested Ebooks

Introduction to Addictive Behaviors, Fifth Edition by Dennis L. Thombs; Cynthia J. Osborn
ISBN: 146253922X
Publication Date: 2019
This book comprehensively reviews theories of addiction to give students and professionals a multidisciplinary foundation for clinical practice. It explores the causes and mechanisms of substance and behavioral addictions, as well as implications for helping people recover. Providing a science-based perspective, the text emphasizes the importance of using treatment and prevention strategies that are grounded in evidence. (Source: Amazon.com)
The Recovery Revolution by Claire D. Clark
ISBN: 9780231176385
Publication Date: 2017
In this history of addiction treatment, Claire D. Clark traces the political shift from the radical communitarianism of the 1960s to the conservatism of the Reagan era, uncovering the forgotten origins of today's recovery movement. (Source: Amazon.com)
When the Servant Becomes the Master by Jason Z W Powers
ISBN: 9781942094548
Publication Date: 2018
Jason Powers, MD, approaches addiction from a variety of different angles, clearly and carefully attacking myths and misinformation, and bringing the reader up to date with the most current scientific and popular literature on addiction. (Amazon.com)
Behavioral Addictions: DSM-5® and Beyond by Nancy Petry (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199391547
Publication Date: 2015
This book explains the rationale for changes in the DSM-5® related to incorporating behavioral addictions alongside substance use disorders; it also illuminates the significance of including the construct of behavioral addictions in this widely used psychiatric diagnostic manual. (Source: Publisher)
The Addiction Casebook by Petros Levounis (Editor); Abigail J. Herron (Editor)
ISBN: 9781585624584
Publication Date: 2014
The Addiction Casebook presents 12 patients with DSM-5 addiction diagnoses -- plus one experiencing problematic Internet use -- and illustrates practical and successful strategies for diagnosing and treating these patients. (Source: Publisher)
The Behavioral Addictions by Michael S. Ascher (Editor); Petros Levounis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781585624850
Publication Date: 2014
The Behavioral Addictions is the first American Psychiatric Publishing title to explore the diagnosis and treatment of patients who suffer from behavioral addictions, extreme forms of which share specific characteristics with severe forms of substance use disorders. (Source: Publisher)

Libby

Watch the getting started video

Step 1 Download or open Libby on your device:

iOS devices: Apple App Store

Android devices: Google Play

Amazon Fire tablets: Amazon Appstore

Windows, Mac, and Chromebooks: libbyapp.com

Step 2 In Libby, follow the prompts to find your library and sign in with a library card.

Step 3 Browse your library's catalog and borrow a title.

Your selection will vary based on your library, since each library chooses what titles and formats to offer in Libby.

Step 4 Borrowed titles appear on your Shelf and download to the app automatically when you're connected to Wi-Fi, so you can read them when you're offline.

On your Shelf, tap loans at the top of the screen. From there, you can:

• Tap Read With... to choose where you'd like to read the book (Kindle or Libby), then finish sending to Kindle (U.S. libraries only) or start reading in Libby.

• Tap Open In Libby, Open Magazine, or Open Audiobook to start reading or listening in the app

• Tap Manage Loan to see options like Renew and Return.