LibGuides: Chemistry: Selected Websites

General Chemistry Sites

CAS Presents Common Chemistry
Contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest.
more...less...
Common Chemistry is helpful to non-chemists who know either a name or CAS Registry Number® of a common chemical and want to pair both pieces of information. The CAS Registry Number is the universally recognized unique identifier of chemical substances and is often found on packaging and on articles of commerce.
ChemTube 3D - University of Liverpool (UK)
Contains interactive 3D animations and structures, with supporting information for some of the most important topics covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree.
Los Alamos National Laboratory Periodic Table
Numbers, weights, symbols & electron configuration; discovery & history; sources; compounds; uses and more for each chemical.
more...less...
Originally this online resource was created by Robert Husted at Los Alamos National Laboratory during his time as a Graduate Research Assistant, circa 1992. It was given a face lift during 2002/2003 by Mollie Boorman, then a student working at the Laboratory.

In 2011, it was again re-designed and updated by Maida Trujillo of the Chemistry Division web team with technical and writing assistance from Dave Hobart and Josh Smith, both of Chemistry Division.

This page is being offered as a public service. We have attempted to make it as complete as possible, but it remains an imperfect resource with ambiguities and errors.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
National Institute of Standards and Technology webBook can be searched by: formula, name, IUPAC identifier, CAS registry number, reaction, author, structure, Ion energetics properties, vibrational and electronic energies, or molecular weight.
more...less...
The National Institute of Standards and Technology's, founded in 1901 and now part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. Today, NIST measurements are available via their website.
PubChem
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.

PubChem is organized as three linked databases--PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound & PubChem BioAssay. It also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
more...less...
Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties. These include links to PubMed scientific literature and NCBI's protein 3D structure resource.

A PubChem publication site provides links to published articles.
Science.Gov - Physics & Chemistry
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information that provides access to over 50 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information--over 2100 scientific websites.
more...less...
Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 16 U.S. government science organizations within 12 Federal Agencies. It searches include a variety of features and abilities, including:
Clustering of results by subtopics, authors, or dates to help you target your search
Eureka News results related to your search terms
Mark & send option for emailing results to friends and colleagues
Updated Alerts service
Image Search

North Carolina

NC Department of Environment & Natural Resources - Laboratory
Data, statistics, reports & maps for our state and seven regions, including the Wilmington Region which is comprised of New Hanover, Pender, Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, Onslow & Carteret Counties

Organic Compounds

Organic Compounds Database
This searchable 2483-compound database is maintained by Harold M. Bell at Virginia Tech.

Hazardous Chemicals

Occupational Health & Safety Administration (OSHA) - Hazardous and Toxic Substances
OSHA currently regulates exposure to approximately 400 substances. The OSHA Chemical Sampling Information (CSI) file contains listings for approximately 1500 substances; the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) Toxic Substance Control Act (TSCA) Chemical Substances Inventory lists information on more than 62,000 chemicals or chemical substances; some libraries maintain files of material safety data sheets (MSDS) for more than 100,000 substances.
TOXNET Toxicology Data Network
The Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) maintains a comprehensive web site with access to resources produced by TEHIP and by other government agencies and organizations. Its flagship resource is TOXNET®, an integrated database system of hazardous chemicals, toxic releases and environmental health.
more...less...
TOXMAP®, another resource, uses United States maps to explore data from the Environmental Protection Agency’s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Superfund programs. The Haz-Map® database contains information on the health effects of exposure to chemical and biological agents used in industry, on the job and at home.