Veterans' Resources

The Department of Veterans Affairs' Compensation Rate Tables are provided along with a "How to Read Tables" entry.

A service provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs and the Department of Defense which allows veterans to apply for benefits, find documents needed for application, and connect to links about benefits.

This is the benefits booklet published by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

From pay to the GI Bill, from VA home loans to health care, your military service has earned you valuable military benefits. Whether you're on active duty, a veteran or retiree, we make using your military & Veteran benefits easy.

Find information on military and VA benefits, military pay, disability compensation, insurance, Social Security benefits and more

The state of North Carolina provides several veteran benefits. This section offers a brief description of each of the following benefits: housing benefits, financial assistance benefits, employment benefits, education benefits, and other state benefits for veterans.

DVA provides a factsheet for its benefits for veterans.

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) offers a wide range of benefits and services to eligible veterans, members of their families, and survivors of deceased
veterans. VA programs include disability compensation and pensions, readjustment benefits, and health care programs. The VA also provides life insurance, burial benefits, housing and other loan guaranty programs, and special counseling and outreach programs. While eligibility for specific benefits varies, veterans generally must meet requirements related to discharge type and length of active duty military service. This report provides an overview of major VA benefits and the VA budget.

Get information about benefits and other services for veterans.

In addition to the pensions and benefits to which you may be entitled because of both public and private employment, you may also be eligible for certain benefits based on your military service. The following is a summary of veteran's benefits and what you need to know about them.

The Department of Veterans Affairs is dedicated to ending veterans' homelessness.

Several links are given with information about housing.

The Department of Veterans Affairs provides information for veterans to get home loans.

Veterans who receive, or are eligible to receive compensation for VA recognized injuries or handicaps may also be entitled to VA loan benefits above and beyond those typically available for eligible VA loan applicants.

The US Department of Veterans Affairs urges all veterans who are encountering problems making their mortgage payments to speak with their servicers as soon as possible to explore options to avoid foreclosure. Contrary to popular opinion, servicers really do not want to foreclose because foreclosure costs a lot of money. Depending on a veteran’s specific situation, servicers may offer different options as listed in this website.

Since 1945, the American Council on Education (ACE) has provided a collaborative link between the U. S. Department of Defense and higher education through the review of military training and experiences for the award of equivalent college credits for members of the Armed Forces.

Complete this application to apply for reimbursement of licensing or certification test fees. You must apply separately for VA education benefits if you have not already done so. You can receive reimbursement of a licensing or certification test fee if you qualify for VA benefits under one of the following programs:
1. Montgomery GI Bill - Active Duty Educational Assistance Program
2. Post-Vietnam Era Veterans' Educational Assistance Program
3. Post-9/11 GI Bill
4. Survivors' and Dependents' Educational Assistance Program
5. Montgomery GI Bill - Selected Reserve Program
6. Reserve Educational Assistance Program

DAV online application process for the GI Bill.
Determine your best benefit, collect your paperwork and information, choose a school, calculate your benefits, compare the programs, and apply.

The Yellow Ribbon Program makes additional funds available for your education program without an additional charge to your GI Bill entitlement. Specifically, it allows funds beyond the GI Bill entitlement if the veteran student enrolls in a private school where tuition and fees are more than the GI Bill allowances.

The primary vehicle for federal assistance to veterans is the Montgomery GI Bill. The secondary vehicle is the Veterans Education Assistance Program, or VEAP.
This Guide provides a full explanation of benefits under both the GI Bill and the VEAP, including eligibility requirements and application procedures.

Dependents' Educational Assistance provides education and training opportunities to eligible dependents of certain veterans. The program offers up to 45 months of education benefits. These benefits may be used for degree and certificate programs, apprenticeship, and on-the-job training. If you are a spouse, you may take a correspondence course. Remedial, deficiency, and refresher courses may be approved under certain circumstances.

This section of FinAid discusses student aid programs for veterans and their dependents. A discussion of the student aid treatment of veterans education benefits and the definition of a veteran for student aid purposes can be found in the Veterans and the FAFSA section of FinAid.

This the home for all educational benefits provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Veterans pursuing their educational goals are usually eligible for "educational assistance for students" in most states. Educational benefits for veterans and their dependents, particularly the children of deceased and disabled veterans, are also available in some states.

Federal Student Aid, an office of the U.S. Department of Education, plays a central and essential role in America's postsecondary education community. Our core mission is to ensure that all eligible individuals benefit from federal financial assistance—grants, loans and work-study programs—for education beyond high school.

Veterans need to be aware of a few special circumstances when completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). These circumstances include the student aid treatment of veterans education benefits and the definition of a veteran for student aid purposes.

From the US Department of Education, Veterans Upward Bound is designed to motivate and assist veterans in the development of academic and other requisite skills necessary for acceptance and success in a program of postsecondary education. The program provides assessment and enhancement of basic skills through counseling, mentoring, tutoring and academic instruction in the core subject areas. The primary goal of the program is to increase the rate at which participants enroll in and complete postsecondary education programs.

Wartime veterans and their surviving spouses, 65 years and older, may be entitled to a tax-free benefit called Aid and Attendance. The benefit was designed to provide financial assistance to help offset the cost of long-term care in an assisted living facility or for in home care.

f you served in the active military service and were separated under any condition other than dishonorable, you may qualify for VA health care benefits. Current and former members of the Reserves or National Guard who were called to active duty by a federal order and completed the full period for which they were called or ordered to active duty may be eligible for VA health benefits as well.

Veterans medical care benefits provide outpatient medical services, hospital care, medicines, and supplies to eligible veterans. To receive health care, veterans generally must be enrolled in the VA health system.

Some veterans are required to make copayments for their care and medications. This link provides a summary of cost and co-payments for VA Health Care.

This website has been designed especially to help low-income service members, veterans and their families. For that reason, we focus on legal services that are available free of charge.

We specialize in helping veterans suffering from PTSD and other mental health issues. Do not be afraid to come forward and claim the benefits you deserve. Do you have questions about your benefits or about a denial of benefits? We are happy to evaluate your situation and honor requests for more information. We are veterans working exclusively for veterans. Our attorneys help get you the benefits you have earned.

Veterans advocacy is provided by this organization with respect to legal issues unique to veterans.

This electronic pamphlet, developed by the United States Department of Justice, provides an overview of the legal rights of service members.

Modern Military Association provides free legal counseling to service members about issues arising from discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender presentation, the regulations governing service by HIV+ people, the regulations addressing service by transgender persons, and other services.

Provides information from the Department of Veterans Affairs regarding burial of veterans and also gives information about surviving spouse benefits.

Provides links about pensions and compensation for veterans, servicemembers, dependents, and survivors.

If you are considering making the military a career -- or you have already made that decision, and just want to know more about your benefits -- then this will be of special interest to you.

This site is provided by Annuity.org.
When it comes to preparing for the golden years, veterans and their families have many resources at their fingertips. They include pensions, a civilian income, Social Security (or possible disability income), VA healthcare and tax-advantaged savings. Find out what benefits are available to you and how eligibility is determined. By combining military offerings with Social Security income, savings plans and annuities you will be one step closer to handling your future expenses.

This web site is dedicated to the surviving spouses and dependents of military personnel who died while in active military service and to the survivors of veterans who died after active service.

Burial benefits are monetary and nonmonetary benefits that eligible veterans receive for their military service. Nonmonetary burial benefits have been provided to servicemembers and veterans since the Civil War. Monetary burial benefits have been provided to servicemembers and veterans since World War I.

Access to VA-administered life insurance programs
gives servicemembers and veterans, who may not be eligible for private life insurance policies, the opportunity to carry group life insurance. This provides for their families in the event of the servicemember’s or veteran’s death.