LibGuides: Spanish 211: Country Information

Useful Country Stats

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
OECD Statistics
Includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
United Nations Data Division
Pools major UN databases and those of several international sources into one single internet environment. The innovative design allows a user to access a large number of UN databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search.
World Bank Mapping for Results
Visualizes the locations of World Bank-financed projects to better monitor development impact, improve aid effectiveness and coordination, and enhance transparency and social accountability.
World Bank's "Doing Business" Survey
Provides quantified, comparable measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies. Published annually since 2002, it measures the efficiency and strength of laws, regulations and institutions relevant to domestic small and medium-size companies throughout their life cycle
World Health Organizaton (WHO)
Provides access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.
more...less...
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Reference Books

The CIA World Factbook 2017 by Central Intelligence Agency
Call Number: Wilm Reference Books G 123 .U55 2016
ISBN: 9781510712881
Publication Date: 2016-11-22
Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture
Call Number: Wilm Reference Books F 1406 .E53 2008
Nations of the World: A Political, Economic & Business Handbook by Richard Gottlieb (Editor)
Call Number: Wilm Reference Books G 133 .N38 2016
The World Book Encyclopedia of People and Places by S. Thomas Richardson (Editor)
Call Number: Wilm Reference Books G 133 .W855 2007