LibGuides: Welding Technology: Recommended Websites

Government Sites

National Institute of Standards and Technology
National Technical Information Service
OSHA: Welding, Cutting, and Brazing
Safety standards for welding and cutting.

Blogs

Carmen Electrode Blog
"Welding and metal fabrication stories for today's Rosie."
JoeWelder
News, reviews of innovative companies and products, and profiles of those who are making an impact in the metal fabrication industry.

Commercial Sites

These websites are primarily commercial marketing sites for products and services. They are included here because they also offer some free resources.

American Machinist
Industry news, cutting tool updates, calculatos, buyers' guides & shop oerations ideas.
Ed Craig's Weld Reality
Based in Asheville, NC, Craig offers specialty classes and services to industry.
Hobart Institute of Welding Technology
Manufacturer site that includes a welding message board and useful welding links.
Lincoln Electric: The Welding Experts
Manufacturer's site with some industry news, safety tips and problem-solving advice.
Miller Welds
This link bypasses the main product and service page, linking directly to a search for free downloadable articles.
Steel on the Net
International steel industry news, price information and consulting contacts.
Welding Tips and Tricks
While many products and services are promoted for sale on this site, it also offers some full-length online videos at no cost.

Organizations & Associations

American Welding Society
Contains industry news, job information, and industry links

Edison Welding Institute
Click on "Video Gallery" for free demonstrations.
more...less...
Member-based organization that provides appliled research on innovative materials joining and allied technologies to its 1,200 member companies
Machines and Metal: Become a Welder
Links on welding techniques, safety, and history.
National Ornamental Metal Museum
This museum is "dedicated exclusively to the exhibition and preservation of fine metalwork". Great pictures of artistic metalwork.
Welding Information Center
Sponsored by current and former manufacturers and distributors of welding rods to educate the public about the importance of welding to our society.
Welding Research Council
Not-for-profit scientific research corporation dedicated to the solution of problems in welding and pressure vessel technology. The Council organizes and manages cooperative programs to advance codes and standards

NEW STUFF - SPRING 2020

NSF ATE community and partners is bringing educators the resources below in response to the COVID-19 impact on higher education.

Welding Learning Objects
FREE welding lessons and tutorials fromWisconsin Online
American Welding Society Learning Podcasts
FREE welding videos and podcasts
Miller OpenBook Learning Management Software
FREE management software to help welding instructors plan, offer, and assess student learning with engaging modules, quizzes and assignments
Miller Electric Presentations & Quizzes
FREE presentation and quizzes

Calculators & Demonstration Video Sites

Go Welding
Site created by European welding engineer, John Dyson.
History of Welding
Source for video and still images, self-quizzes and games, dictionary terms and more.
Instructables
Users create and share videos, pictures and slideshows of their own creations.
Mat Web
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers ; metals; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Welding.Com
Includes a history of welding, symbols and terminology, & equipment information. Intended to help small to medium sized companies become more efficient, discover new opportunities and reduce the cost of doing business.
Welding 101 - Hobart
Bring your next welding project to life with DIY welding art projects, how to weld videos and more tips and tricks from the experts.
Welding Classroom
Welding Dictionary - Everlast Generators
Welding Dictionary - Welding.Com