Skip to Main Content

Phlebotomy

Library-recommended resources to support students in the Phlebotomy program.
  • URL: https://libguides.cfcc.edu/Phlebotomy
  • Print Page
  • HOW - Your Step-by-Step Guide

    Six-page PDF steps the reader through the common parts of any scientific study with follow-up questions to guide understanding. Find a scholarly/peer reviewed article in your subject area of interest and follow along .

    "How-To" Video in the CFCC Library

    VIEW a CLIP (3-min.) of this 24-minute DVD.

    PubMed Central

    Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

     

    PubMed Central offers very sophisticated searching options, but these can be intimidating to new users.  The help manual is a 38-page PDF.

    DOAJ : Directory of Open Access Journals

    Aims & Scope

    The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals.

    Best Medical Databases

           

    Keep your initial search simple--save limits (such as date ranges, scholarly, English-language only, etc.) until you see the initial results list.

    Look for common database tools (suggested subject headings, abstracts, citation help, emailing and save options) on the edges of the page, often in a color bar above the search boxes or in a separate frame on the right or left of your results list.

    Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

    Telling a magazine from a journal isn't always simple. 

    Periodical publications such as magazines, newspapers and journals vary in quality and depth of coverage. In your Surg Tech classes, your instructor will usually want you to select articles from scholarly journals (sometimes called "refereed" or "peer-reviewed" journals). The video below offers some tips on how to tell a scholarly journal from a popular periodical. For more detail, try our guide to "Scholarly Journal or Magazine?"

    Scholarly Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles

    Periodical publications such as magazines, newspapers and journals vary in quality and depth of coverage. Instructors will frequently want you to select articles from scholarly journals (sometimes called "refereed" or "peer-reviewed" journals, though the terms don't mean exactly the same thing).

    Click the image below to watch a short (3min) video on how to tell the difference between scholarly articles and popular magazine articles.

    For more detail, try our guide: