CRAPP (Central Michigan University Libraries)
C – Currency: The timeliness of the information
R – Relevance: The importance of the information to your needs.
A – Authority: The source of the information
A – Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.
P – Purpose: The reason the information exists.
credit: Adaptation of CSU Chico’s CRAAP Test by Austin Community College
CARS (North Hennepin Community College)
C – Credibility
A – Accuracy
R – Reasonableness
S – Support
RADAR (Loyola Marymount University - Hannon Library)
R – Rationale
A – Authority
D – Date
A – Accuracy
R – Relevance
S – Stop
I – Investigate the Source
F – Find Better Coverage
T – Trace Claims, quotes and media to the original context
S – Source
M – Motivation
E – Evidence
L – Logic
L – Left out
A nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for American voters, FactCheck is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania. The team monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by U.S. political figures through their ads, debates, speeches, and interviews.
Clearinghouse for reports of polls conducted by various pollsters. With no independent funding source, this website relies on pop-up advertising.
Founded in 1989 by Charles Lewis. We are one of the country's oldest and largest nonpartisan, nonprofit investigative news organizations. Our mission: To serve democracy by revealing abuses of power, corruption and betrayal of public trust by powerful public and private institutions, using the tools of investigative journalism.
Affiliated with the Sanford School of Public Policy at Duke University, the Lab explores new forms of journalism, including fact-checking, which is growing around the world, empowering democracies and holding governments accountable, and structured journalism, which creates new forms of storytelling and beat reporting.
The Center for Responsive Politics is a research group that tracks money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Open Secrets is nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit. The organization aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government.
FactCheck.org’s SciCheck feature focuses exclusively on false and misleading scientific claims that are made by partisans to influence public policy. It was launched in January 2015 with a grant from the Stanton Foundation. The foundation was founded by the late Frank Stanton, president of CBS for 25 years, from 1946 to 1971.
An Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.
Project Vote Smart, also called Vote Smart, is a non-profit, non-partisan research organization that collects and distributes information on candidates for public office in the United States. It covers candidates and elected officials in six basic areas: background information, issue positions (via the Political Courage Test), voting records, campaign finances, interest group ratings, and speeches and public statements.
A project of the Tampa Bay Times, this site has won awards for its research and reporting on the statements by U.S. politicians and advocacy groups. The site rates accuracy of statements according to a "Truth-O-Meter" and the consistency of public official stances according to the "Flip-O-Meter." It publishes a list of its reporters and editors.
The Washington Post Fact Checker's purpose “is to ‘truth squad’ the statements of political figures regarding issues of great importance, be they national, international or local." Fact Checker also seeks to “explain difficult issues, provide missing context and provide analysis and explanation of various ‘code words’ used by politicians, diplomats and others to obscure or shade the truth."
POLITICO is a global news and information company at the intersection of politics and policy. With publications based in Washington, D.C., New York and Brussels - and continued expansion into various state capitals. Since its launch in 2007, has aimed to expand nonpartisan political and policy journalism. “We all believe informing readers and holding leaders accountable is and will forever be essential to smart governance.”
Determines the accuracy of claims by politicians, public figures, advocacy groups and institutions engaged in the public debate. All verdicts fall into three color-based categories: In The Red, In The Green or In Between - red being a negative ruling, and green being a positive.
A nonpartisan--but not non-profit--electronic media company specializing in the collection, publication and distribution of public opinion polling information on political, economic and lifestyle issues. Subscriptions are $5/month but some content is available free on the website.
The American Press Institute, founded in 1946, is an educational non-advocacy 501(c)3 nonprofit organization affiliated with the News Media Alliance. It aims to help the news media, especially local publishers and newspaper media, advance in the digital age. They offer a daily email service, website posts and in-depth reports focused on helping journalists and regular citizens the tools to do their own quality fact-checking.
NewsBusters is a project of the Media Research Center, which labels itself as an "American Media Watchdog." According to their website, they aim to "expose and combat the Liberal Media bias."
Web-based, not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) progressive research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation
in the U.S. media.
Collected political ads in the 2016 election. In addition to tracking airings across key primary states, the collection includes ads that may air elsewhere or exclusively on social media.
Searchable site offering full-text of pending and completed legislation and treaties, Congressional reports, committee membership lists and more. For the most effective searching, start with Search Tools Overview
Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis and does not make policy recommendations.
Available since 1997, FedStats supports over 100 agencies, listed in Statistical Programs of The United States Government and reporting expenditures of at least $500,000/year that produce and disseminate official federal statistics. FedStats provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics.
The U.S. Government Publishing Office GPO is the Federal Government’s official, digital, secure resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving official information products. GPO provides for permanent public access at no charge through this website, partnerships with approximately 1,150 libraries nationwide, and a secure online bookstore.