Film Studies

Founded in 1927 by 36 of the most influential men and women in the motion picture industry at the time, the Academy is an honorary membership organization whose ranks now include more than 6,000 artists and professionals. Dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of motion pictures, the Academy's corporate management and general policies are overseen by a Board of Governors, which includes representatives from each of the craft branches

AL JADID is published in English, and features original articles along with many translations of essays and interviews by Arab writers, journalists, scholars, and poets as well as original illustrations by featured artists. Many leading Arab writers, from both the United States and from the Arab world, contribute to AL JADID. Much of what you read in AL JADID challenges conventional approaches to Arab culture and arts. At the heart of our coverage is a concern with the sanctity of Arab intellectuals and artists and a fierce defense of those whose pens were treated as weapons.

Allows searching by title or actor, or browse by genres, moods, country or time.

AFI is America's promise to preserve the history of the motion picture, to honor the artists and their work and to educate the next generation of storytellers. AFI provides leadership in film, television and digital media and is dedicated to initiatives that engage the past, the present and the future of the moving image arts.

'Based on the Book' is a compilation of over 1,250 books, novels, short stories, and plays that have been made into motion pictures. Utilizing the Internet Movie Database as the authority, all movies in this collection have been released as feature-length films in the United States, in English, since 1980.

Contains reviews of the latest releases and news about, and previews of, films in the works. This is a good resource for very current reviews, interviews, and articles covering the film industry.

CinemaFunk is a film blog that features movie reviews, film criticism and analysis for recent and classic films.

This collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films, is dedicated to gathering the greatest films from around the world and publishing them in editions that offer the highest technical quality and award-winning, original supplements.

Educational Media Reviews Online (EMRO) is a database of video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers. The reviews are written by librarians and teaching faculty in institutions across the United States and Canada.

Film Criticism recently completed its thirty-fifth year of continuous publication, making it the third oldest academic film journal in the country. It continues to present the very best writing from a new generation of film historians, theorists, and critics representing many different disciplines, cultures, and critical perspectives. In addition, it regularly publishes single-theme issues, extensive interviews, and festival reports.

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s annual Golden Globe Awards have enabled the non-profit organization to donate more than $15 million in the past nineteen years to entertainment-related charities, as well as funding scholarships and other programs for future film and television professionals. Grants have been given to 40 different entertainment-related organizations.

This is an award-winning website offering complete coverage of the film industry. Esteemed critics provide movie reviews of the latest releases, documentaries, independent and international films, and festival circuits.

IndieWire is the leading news, information, and networking site for independent-minded filmmakers, the industry and moviegoers alike.

IMDb includes more than 100,000 domestic and foreign films of all genres that date back as far as 1892. Listings contain movie credits and plot summaries, and many are linked to reviews. Search for a movie by title, year, or genre. IMDb also contains more than 1.5 million filmographies and biographies of persons involved at all levels of film-making.

The Journal of Religion and Film is a peer reviewed journal which is committed to the study of connections between the medium of film and the phenomena of religion, however those are defined. It encourage multiple approaches to the study of religion and film, including the analysis of how religious traditions are portrayed in films; exploration of the religious concepts that may be found or utilized in the interpretation of films; study of how the religious ideals and background of the filmmakers may have influenced them; and analysis of how films themselves may operate “religiously” for viewers.

This website looks at media in its social and political context. Since 1974, Jump Cut has been analyzing media in relation to class, race, and gender.

Leonard Maltin, one of the country's most recognized and respected film critics and historians, is now in his 30th season with television's Entertainment Tonight. Long before he became a familiar face on television, however, his annual paperback Leonard Maltin's Movie Guide established his reputation; he was 18 when the first edition was published.

This is a list of groups, organizations and festivals that recognize achievements in cinema, usually by awarding various prizes. The awards sometimes also have popular unofficial names (such as the 'Oscar' for Hollywood's Academy Awards), which are mentioned if applicable. Many awards are simply identified by the name of the group presenting the award. Awards have been divided into three major categories: critics' awards, voted on by a group of critics; festival awards, awards presented to the best film shown in a particular film festival; and industry awards, which are selected by professionals working in some branch of the movie industry.
Be sure to scroll down for timelines regarding award presentations.

The MPAA continues to champion the creative and artistic freedoms of filmmakers, while working to rally public and private institutions around the world to the cause of safeguarding intellectual property rights, advancing technology-driven innovation, and opening markets to the uniquely powerful and increasingly global medium of film.
Throughout its history and into the modern era, MPAA's core mission has remained the same — to advance the business and the art of filmmaking and its enjoyment around the world.

Discover the movies, actors, directors, producers, and other professionals in the film industry who have been awarded top honors in the film industry, including Oscars, Golden Globes, MTV Movie Awards, Cannes Film Festival winners, and more.

MovieMaker is the nation’s leading resource on the art and business of making movies and the world’s most widely read independent movie magazine. Founded in 1993, the magazine currently enjoys an international bimonthly distribution, a readership of more than 160,000 and a direct subscribership of more than 14,000. This award-winning website receives more than one million visitors per year.

The Movie Review Query Engine is the Internet’s largest database of movie reviews, containing over 90,000 titles. The continually growing site provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies. The unique combination of reviews, news, and user discussion allows any user to read and add to the Internet’s most comprehensive collection of opinion about film.

"Not Every Great Movie Has to Be Awesome" - Blog Post by Richard Brody

The Online Film Critics Society is the largest, most respected organization for critics whose work appears primarily on the Internet.

Ebert has long been among the most web-savvy of movie critics, embracing the speed and accessibility of the technology as well as the web’s unprecedented ability to display and inter-relate large and complex databases of information in ways that are easily accessible to readers.

Australian-based Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. We believe cinema is an art that can take many forms, from the industrially-produced blockbuster to the hand-crafted experimental work; we also aim to encourage awareness of the histories of such diverse forms. Senses of Cinema is primarily concerned with ideas about particular films or bodies of work, but also with the regimes (ideological, economic and so forth) under which films are produced and viewed, and with the more abstract theoretical and philosophical issues raised by film study. As well, we believe that a cinephilic understanding of the moving image provides the necessary basis for a radical critique of other media and of the global “image culture”.

This website provides a collection of news and information pertaining to silent era films, films released between 1888 and 1929.

From the introduction of the first-ever extensive manga publishing program in North America to the development of its manga-originated properties into film, television and digital entertainment, TOKYOPOP has changed the way teens experience pop culture.