African-American History Month

Discover the literature, music, dance and art of African-American culture. Find topics such as the meaning of spirituals, the Harlem Renaissance, the rise of hip-hop and African-American film history.

The African American Cultural consists of five core components: the AACC Dance and Drum Performance Company, Paul Robeson Theatre at the African American Cultural Center, Pine Grill Jazz Reunion, Jumpin™ Jambalaya Summer Program, and the AACC Cultural Enrichment/Educational Directives After School Program.

PBS presents the broad range of the black experience in the United States, from the Harlem Renaissance to the ongoing debate over affirmative action.

Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.

The Art Institute of Chicago's collection of African American art provides a rich introduction to over 100 years of noted achievements in painting, sculpture, and printmaking. Ranging chronologically from the Civil War era to the Harlem Renaissance and from the civil-rights struggles following World War II to the contemporary period, these works constitute a dynamic visual legacy.

Found on Penn State’s College of
Agricultural Sciences on the Web:
www.cas.psu.edu

The Gallery's collection of American art includes nearly 400 works by African-American artists. This online tour offers commentary on a selection of twenty-two paintings, works on paper, and sculpture ranging from a colonial portrait by Joshua Johnson of Baltimore to modern and contemporary pieces by Jacob Lawrence, Romare Bearden, Alma Thomas, Sam Gilliam, Barkley Hendricks, Willie Cole, Kara Walker, and Lorna Simpson.

The National Museum of African American Music (NMAAM) has defined its focus to solely feature the impact African Americans have on America’s music.

A timeline of events and birthdates for African American women and other women involved in African American history, from 1492 to the present day.

The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.

Founders of Black History Month, the mission of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) is to promote, research, preserve, interpret and disseminate information about Black life, history and culture to the global community.

The Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History is the world's largest institution dedicated to the African American experience. The museum provides learning opportunities, exhibitions, programs and events based on collections and research that explore the diverse history and culture of African Americans and their African origins.

America's foremost museum of African American history, it was founded in 1957 by Dr. Margaret T. and Charles G. Burroughs on the south side of Chicago.

LEARN NC, a program of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Education, provides this guide to lesson plans, articles, and websites to help bring African American history alive in the classroom.

American Memory, from the Library of Congress, provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

The National Museum of African American History and Culture will be a place where all Americans can learn about the richness and diversity of the African American experience, what it means to their lives and how it helped us shape this nation.

Features full-text manuscripts documenting African-American history and culture from the early 19th through the 20th centuries.

Welcome to the official site for the Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist and poet.

Gwendolyn Elizabeth Brooks (June 7, 1917 – December 3, 2000) was an African-American poet. She won the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1950 and was appointed Poet Laureate of Illinois in 1968 and Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress in 1985.

Biography.com's entry for Baldwin, novelist and playwright during the mid-20th century.

Welcome to Maya Angelou’s Official Site. Dr. Maya Angelou is a remarkable Renaissance woman who is hailed as one of the great voices of contemporary literature.

Author of Hip Hop Fiction

American science fiction writer & recipient of both the Hugo and Nebula awards.

Rita Dove served as Poet Laureate of the United States and Consultant to the Library of Congress from 1993 to 1995 and as Poet Laureate of the Commonwealth of Virginia from 2004 to 2006.

American author who achieved national attention in 1992 with her third novel, Waiting to Exhale, which remained on The New York Times bestseller list for many months.

Most widely recognized for his crime fiction, he has written a series of best-selling historical mysteries featuring the hard-boiled detective Easy Rawlins,

The official publisher page for Zane, African American author of erotic fiction who has written over two dozen novels.

Zora Neale Hurston is considered one of the pre-eminent writers of twentieth-century African-American literature and is closely associated with the Harlem Renaissance.