Landscape Gardening

At the American Botanical Council, we are passionate about helping people live healthier lives through the responsible use of herbs and medicinal plants. We are an independent, nonprofit research and education organization dedicated to providing accurate and reliable information for consumers, healthcare practitioners, researchers, educators, industry and the media.

The American Herbalists Guild was founded in 1989 as a non-profit, educational organization to represent the goals and voices of herbalists specializing in the medicinal use of plants. Our primary goal is to promote a high level of professionalism and education in the study and practice of therapeutic herbalism.

All of AHPA’s activities are focused on its mission, which is to promote the responsible commerce of herbal products and are undertaken to maintain and improve market opportunities for companies that sell herbs, herbal and botanical products, and other health-related products, including foods, beverages, dietary supplements, and personal care products, and to ensure that consumers continue to enjoy informed access to a wide choice of goods.

AmericanHort is the national trade association for the nursery and landscape industry. Members grow, distribute, and retail plants of all types, and design and install landscapes for residential and commercial customers. ANLA provides education, research, public relations, and representation services to members. ANLA gives members a strategic advantage in the marketplace and enables them to operate more effectively and provide the public with quality plants, landscape design and installations, and related products and services.

Our mission blends education, social responsibility, and environmental stewardship with the art and science of horticulture.

The APGA is committed to increasing the knowledge of public garden professionals throughout North America through information sharing, professional development, networking, public awareness, and research so they have the tools to effectively serve visitors and members.

The Society's mission is to lead, to educate, and to participate in the careful stewardship, wise planning, and artful design of our cultural and natural environments.

ASTA, the voice of the U.S. spice industry, works to ensure clean, safe spice and shape public policy on behalf of the global industry.

Objectives include the influence of legislation and regulations; the utilization of coalition memberships when possible to maximize impact on legislation and regulations; to identify and respond independently to issues specific to the spice industry; insurance of quality through education: the insurance of clean, safe spice throughout the supply chain by providing key audience education or access to education; and provision of resources to support industry efforts to ensure food safety.

The Botanical Society of America is a membership society whose mission is to: promote botany, the field of basic science dealing with the study and inquiry into the form, function, development, diversity, reproduction, evolution, and uses of plants and their interactions within the biosphere.

The Center for Land Use Interpretation is a research and education organization interested in understanding the nature and extent of human interaction with the earth’s surface, and in finding new meanings in the intentional and incidental forms that we individually and collectively create. We believe that the manmade landscape is a cultural inscription, that can be read to better understand who we are, and what we are doing.

The objectives of the Garden Club of North Carolina, Inc. are:
To provide a non-profit, philanthropic, and educational association for members.
To coordinate the interests of all member garden clubs by association, conference, and correspondence.
To study, in all its aspects, the art of gardening, particularly horticulture, and to cooperate with agencies furthering such interest.
To encourage environmental improvement through civic development, beautification, restoration, and the protection and conservation of our natural resources.
To assist in educating the youth of our state in the areas of garden club activity.

The Herb Society of America focuses on educating its members and the public on the cultivation of herbs and the study of their history and uses, both past and present. The motto of The Society, "For Use and For Delight," is taken from the 17th century herbalist, John Parkinson.

The Herb Growing & Marketing Network is the largest trade association for the herb industry with around 1000 members in business since 1990. We are an information service. We have a library of over 3000 books, subscribe to over 200 periodicals, monitor blogs of all types and search the Web looking for resources and research on the herb industry.

Our holistic vision is to establish, support, and promote the landscape architectural profession across Europe, contributing to international discourse, shaping and disseminating European initiatives, facilitating the exchange of information, while promoting excellence in professional practice, education and research culminating in a culturally rich, diverse and sustainable Europe.

Our Mission is to unite herb professionals for growth through promotion and education, to choose and promote the Herb of the Year™, to promote herbs, to represent all segments of the herb industry, to be an information resource center, to continually educate members, to facilitate networking and social exchange, and to be the recognized standard of excellence.

LCA's mission is to provide landscape professionals with tools for excellence and to help consumers find a landscape partner well matched to their needs.

PLANET is the national trade association representing more than 100,000 landscape industry professionals, who create and maintain healthy, green living spaces for communities across America. PLANET members are committed to the highest standards in industry education, best practices, and business professionalism.

The National Gardening Association (NGA) has been working to renew and sustain the essential connection between people, plants, and the environment. As a nonprofit leader in plant-based education, our vision is to make available free educational plant-based materials, grants, and resources that speak to young minds, educators, youth and community organizations, and the general gardening public in five core areas; education, health and wellness, environmental stewardship, community development, and home gardening

The National Postsecondary Agricultural Student Organization (PAS) is an organization associated with agriculture/agribusiness and natural resources offerings in approved postsecondary institutions offering baccalaureate degrees, associate degrees, diplomas and/or certificates.
PAS is one of the 11 career and technical student organizations that has been approved by the U. S. Department of Education as an integral part of career and technical education.

NCNLA is a membership organization of firms interested in the welfare of North Carolina's green industry, with emphasis on the nursery and landscape industries. Members include wholesale growers, retailers, suppliers, landscapers, horticulture students and educators.
NCNLA’s purpose is to be a flexible, knowledgeable, responsive, environmentally-conscious organization providing the nursery and landscape industries with leadership, technological and business advancement opportunities, and information services. NCNLA’s ultimate goal is to benefit its members’ economic, professional and personal growth.

Our mission is to foster and encourage scientific research, education, and related activities on the past, present, and future uses of plants, and the relationship between plants and people, and to make the results of such research available to the scientific community and the general public through meetings and publications.

Our mission is to protect native medicinal plants of the United States and Canada and their native habitat while ensuring an abundant renewable supply of medicinal plants for generations to come.

The Urban Land Institute provides leadership in the responsible use of land and in creating and sustaining thriving communities worldwide.

The Botanical Society of America has made a collection of approximately 800 images available for instructional use. You must create a FREE account to get access.

Catena, the Digital Archive of Historic Gardens and Landscapes and its companion website, is envisioned as part of a larger, typologically organized archive of digital images with accompanying educational materials. The initial component of Catena is built around the villa, an important landscape type in garden history

PlantFacts has merged several digital collections developed at Ohio State University to become an international knowledge bank and multimedia learning center.

The Sustainable Sites Initiative™ (SITES™) is an interdisciplinary effort by the American Society of Landscape Architects, the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center at The University of Texas at Austin and the United States Botanic Garden to create voluntary national guidelines and performance benchmarks for sustainable land design, construction and maintenance practices.

The National Agricultural Library houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.

The USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map is the standard by which gardeners and growers can determine which plants are most likely to thrive at a location. The map is based on the average annual minimum winter temperature, divided into 10-degree F zones.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

This website is maintained by the University of Oklahoma. It provides substantial and detailed information on all aspects of the field of botany. It also provides many links to other sites.

This website lists schools in North Carolina with programs in plant sciences.

The North Carolina Landscape Contractors' Registration Board was created by the North Carolina General Assembly and is operated as a state licensing board. It is responsible for administering Chapter 89D of the General Statutes of North Carolina. That is, to give examinations, issue certificates, monitor for violations, maintain records of registrants, etc.

Jobs In Horticulture now gives employers the opportunity to place employment opportunities on this site for immediate exposure. This website is updated daily.