LibGuides: World Religions: Periodlcals

ProQuest Central

Questions about how to use ProQuest? Take a look at these Helpful Videos.

Print Publication at the Wilmington Campus

JSTOR

JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials.
When you access JSTOR, first be sure to deselect "Includes Links to External Content", then scroll down the list to the Religion entry. Click on that link to access periodicals and articles.

Selected Periodical Titles from Databases

Publications in this list are generic 'religion' titles. If you want to search for more specific journals (for example, journals on Christianity), enter that into your search strategy.

Culture and Religion
Culture and Religion is an interdisciplinary journal seeking an engagement between scholars working across a range of disciplinary fields, including anthropology, cultural studies, critical theory and gender studies, and postcolonial studies. Lying at the interface between the study of religion and other academic studies of culture, Culture and Religion is a forum for exploring the perspectives of both anthropology and cultural studies
International Journal for Philosophy of Religion
A medium for the exposition, development, and criticism of philosophical insights and theories relevant to religion which offers critical, constructive, and interpretative consideration of religion from an objective philosophical point of vie; articles, symposia, discussions, reviews, notes, and news and represents no single institution or sectarian school, philosophical or religious.
Journal of Religion
Articles from scholars in the fields of theology (biblical, historical, ethical and constructive) and in other types of religious studies (literary, social, psychological and philosophical) for a wide readership in religious studies.
The most recent 12 months are on delay for full-text articles.
Religion, State & Society
Covers the experiences of religious communities in communist & formerly communist countries throughout the world.
Artricles from this periodical are not full-text. You may want to write down the bibliographic information and request the article through interlibrary loan. See a staff member to do this.
Religion Compass
Fields covered include: African religions, ancient Near East, Buddhism, Christianity, Indian traditions, Islam, East Asian traditions, Graeco-Roman religion, Judaism, religion in the Americas, new religions, theory and method.
The most recent 12 months are on delay for full-text articles.
Religion Watch
Reports on trends in contemporary religion with a focus on long-range developments in world current events.
Religious Education
Articles selected through blind review on foundations and theory (educational and theological), history and trends, models and methods, research, moral, value and character education, scripture, religious and social issues for academics and researchers.
Artricles from this periodical are not full-text. You may want to write down the bibliographic information and request the article through interlibrary loan. See a staff member to do this.

Tips for Database Searching

Keep your initial search simple--set the limit for "Full Text" first, but save other limits (such as date ranges, number of pages, peer-reviewed, etc.) until you see the results list.

Look for common database tools (suggested subject headings, abstracts, citation help, emailing and save options) on the edges of the page, often in a color bar above the search boxes or in a separate frame on the right or left of your results list.

Journals, Magazines ... What's the Difference?

Telling a magazine from a journal is not always simple. When your instructor specifies the use of a journal resource, review the two-page guide found at the following link to help you choose:

Journal or Magazine?