HIS 227 Massey

The National Archives preserves and provides access to the records of the Federal Government from our most celebrated milestones to little-known surprises.

“Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.”

Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music.

"Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts." Not just for California history.

Access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. All areas once considered to be part of the region are included; slave narratives include all parts of North America. There are ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral-history interviews, and songs.

Primary documents and trial transcripts.

"Consists of 15,000 pages of original historical material documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West from the mid-eighteenth to the early nineteenth century."

"A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. "

Covers the period from 1763 to 1877. Each section includes "background information about the document, and a list of links to digital materials concerning that document." From the Library of Congress.

Oral history collection relevant to California and western United States history, but featuring many interviews with broader relevance.

Shows life in two towns, one Northern and one Southern, from 1859 to 1870. Includes letters, diaries, church records, maps, census records and more.

"Original documents regarding all aspects of the war."

"consists primarily of official documents produced by various agencies of the United States, United Kingdom and British Commonwealth governments."

Covers the 108th to 110th Congress, 2003-2008

You must to create an account (FREE) to download tables.
Choose your own GEOGRAPHIC LEVELS, YEARS, and TOPICS.

Transcripts of interviews of former slaves in the Carolinas

Transcripts of interviews of former slaves in North Carolina

Includes 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.