Historic Preservation - Dr. James Burke - Continuing Ed

Includes examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Administered since 1933 through cooperative agreements with the National Park Service, the Library of Congress, and the private sector, ongoing programs of the National Park Service have recorded America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 556,900 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 38,600 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials. Since the National Park Service's HABS, HAER and HALS programs create new documentation each year, documentation will continue to be added to the online collections.

The new edition of Federal Historic Preservation Laws includes 28 Federal laws and portions of laws that pertain to the preservation of the Nation's cultural heritage. Arranged chronologically, the laws trace the evolution of historic preservation and cultural resource management philosophy from the Antiquities Act of 1906 through the National Women's Rights History Project of 2009. The laws laid the foundation for the National Park Service as the lead Federal preservation agency and for the national historic preservation partnership that includes NPS, other Federal agencies, Tribal Preservation Offices, State Historic Preservation Offices, Certified Local Governments, and private organizations. The publication includes changes to the laws through December 2017.

The National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Save America’s Treasures office has closed. The U.S. Congress did not renew funding for the federal Save America’s Treasures program for fiscal years 2011 and 2012, and does not plan to re-establish funding. Save America’s Treasures has been one of the country’s most important and effective bricks and mortar historic preservation efforts, bringing hundreds of millions of dollars for restoration to nationally-significant historic sites and special collections across the country. The National Trust is proud of our role in helping to establish this program and in assisting grantees with their applications and fundraising. Our federal partners will continue to focus on completing grants already awarded through 2010.

Section include : Preservation Planning, Identification, Evaluation, Registration, Notes on Documentation & Treatment of Hist. Properties, Historical Documentation, Architectural and Engineering Documentation, Archeological Documentation, Historic Preservation Projects, Qualification Standards, Preservation Terminology

The National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Save America’s Treasures office has closed. The U.S. Congress did not renew funding for the federal Save America’s Treasures program for fiscal years 2011 and 2012, and does not plan to re-establish funding. Save America’s Treasures has been one of the country’s most important and effective bricks and mortar historic preservation efforts, bringing hundreds of millions of dollars for restoration to nationally-significant historic sites and special collections across the country. The National Trust is proud of our role in helping to establish this program and in assisting grantees with their applications and fundraising. Our federal partners will continue to focus on completing grants already awarded through 2010.