NC Organizations - Historic Preservation - Dr. James Burke - Continuing Ed

North Carolina Organizations

Federation of North Carolina Historical Societies
The Federation of North Carolina Historical Societies is a coalition of societies, associations, and commissions located throughout the state that are dedicated to preserving and promoting history in North Carolina.
North Carolina Architects & Builders - North Carolina State University
Growing reference work that contains brief biographical accounts, building lists & bibliographical information about architects, builders &other artisans who planned & built North Carolina's architecture.
more...less...
As a biographical dictionary, it focuses on people and their works in the state. In many respects, this web site is a companion to the book, Architects and Builders in North Carolina: A History of the Practice of Building (Catherine W. Bishir, Charlotte V. Brown, Carl R. Lounsbury, and Ernest H. Wood III (UNC Press, 1990). See Project History for more details.
Preservation North Carolina
Founded in 1939, Preservation North Carolina is North Carolina's only private nonprofit statewide historic preservation organization. Its mission is to protect & promote buildings, landscapes & sites important to the diverse heritage of North Carolina.

North Carolina State Historic Preservation Office
Assists private citizens, private institutions, local governments & agencies of state & federal government in the identification, evaluation, protection & enhancement of properties significant in North Carolina history & archaeology. Carries out both state & federal preservation programs.
State Archives of North Carolina
Collects, preserves & makes available for public use historical & evidential materials relating to North Carolina including government records, maps, pamphlets, sound recordings, photographs & films
more...less...
Archive holdings consist of official records of state, county & local governmental units & copies of federal & foreign government materials. In addition to these official records are private collections, organization records, maps, pamphlets, sound recordings, photographs, motion picture film & a small reference library. In all, the Archives houses over 50,000 linear feet of permanently valuable materials containing millions of individual items. Materials in the Archives collections constitute by far the most valuable assembly of manuscript records and North Caroliniana in existence. The State Archives is part of the Division of Archives and Records of the Office of Archives and History and the Department of Cultural Resources.