Includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Job and Industry Profiles: 94 industry profiles, organized by 16 Career Clusters created by the U.S. Department of Education, and nearly 3,400 job articles.
Job-Hunting and Workplace Skills: guidance on the essentials of getting a job and keeping it—establishing a career path, honing interview skills, writing résumés, and more
Career and Industry Resources: more than 55,000 searchable, browsable resource entries, divided into convenient categories on fellowships, organizations, internships, scholarships, and awards
School Searches: four comprehensive, current databases, provided by Peterson's Nelnet, LLC, covering undergraduate, graduate, nursing, and vocational and technical schools in the U.S. and Canada; search for schools by type, region, areas of study, and a variety of other characteristics
Career Interest Assessment: ranks users' work interest areas and suggests related occupations and industries
Links to Current Job Opportunities: access to live job postings.
Over 600 full-text entries covering all aspects of most careers including: job overview, work environment, wage/salary info, required education/experience, job outlook, and info on similar occupations.
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Access to thousands of audiobooks and eBooks. Content can be enjoyed on your mobile device by downloading the free Libby or OverDrive app in your app store. Visit the FAQ page to find out more about the apps.
Cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized by cultures and ethnic groups and subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
20,000+ videos in business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries (Ken Burns & PBS), interviews, instructional and vocational training videos (TedTalks & Khan Academy), historical speeches and newsreels.
Streaming video collection which provides a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform. Includes the educational videos children want to watch—Sesame Street, The Electric Company, The Wubbulous World of Dr. Seuss, The Berenstain Bears, Franklin, and thousands more.
Formerly RBdigital. Access to thousands of audiobooks and ebooks.
If you don’t have a FREE hoopla account:
--Click the "hoopla" link or download the hoopla app.
--Register with your student email address/password.
--Type "NC LIVE" as your library.
--Enter your CFCC ID# in the library card space and choose a random four digit pin.
--Browse and borrow from hoopla’s collection!
IBISWorld is a comprehensive industry-market research database which covers every US industry with a 5-digit NAICS code. IBISWorld also offers similarly detailed research on selected worldwide industries. IBISWorld also contains industry SWOT analysis and market share information. Get the most out of IBISWorld by viewing this tutorial.
Database service that helps researchers access archived, full-text scholarly content. Collections of digitized back issues of about 1,000 journals covering the disciplines of history, language, literature, education, philosophy, classical studies, music, art and art history.
Dates of available issues are controlled by a "moving wall"—an agreed-upon delay between the current volume of the journal and the latest volume available on JSTOR—usually 3 to 5 years. Based on faculty requests, CFCC Library subscribes to two JSTOR collections : Arts & Sciences II (127 journals in economics, history, archaeology, classics, and Asian, African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies.), and Arts & Sciences VIII (140 journals in the core humanities disciplines of history, language, and literature; and in education, philosophy, classical studies, music, art and art history).
Publishes full-text, peer-reviewed articles and related information as a resource to those in the field of chemical education and to those institutions that serve them. The journal typically addresses chemical content, laboratory experiments, instructional methods, and pedagogies.
Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practice tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more. Get the most out of LearningExpress by viewing our tutorial.
A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks. Get the most out of NoveList Plus by viewing our tutorial.
Searches 47 ProQuest resources at one time. Contains millions of full-text articles from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. Get the most out of ProQuest Central by viewing our tutorial.
Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
Full text articles on social, scientific, economic, and political issues worldwide. Contains materials selected from domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications. Get the most out of SIRS by viewing our tutorial.
Interactive foreign language learning to build listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps. Includes over 110 languages, including ESL materials for speakers of over 30 languages and American Sign Language (ASL). Get the most out of Transparent Language Online by viewing our tutorial.
Contents include: United States Code Annotated (USCA), All federal and state cases including U.S. Supreme Court cases, State statutes and regulations, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Federal Register, and over 800 law reviews and journals.