Skip to Main Content

Anatomy & Physiology

Anatomy & Physiology topics include body organization, homeostasis, cytology, histology, metabolism, nutrition, acid-base, fluid & electrolyte balance.
  • URL: https://libguides.cfcc.edu/Anatomy-Physiology
  • Print Page
  • Tips for Database Searching

    • Keep your initial search simple—set the limit for “Full Text” right away, but save other limits (such as date ranges, peer-reviewed, etc.) until you see the results list.

     

    • Look for common database tools (suggested subject headings, abstracts, citation help, emailing and save options) on the edges of the page, often in a color bar above the search boxes or in a separate frame on the right or left of your results list.

    • Use the right Boolean operator--usually AND--to link two search terms.  Using OR often results in a large number of unrelated (and less useful) results.  Using AND assures that both of your search terms will appear in the same document.

    Want more information about Boolean searching?

    Boolean Tutorial - Beginner

    Boolean Tutorial - Advanced

    ProQuest Central

    Questions about how to use ProQuest?  Take a look at these Helpful Videos.

    PubMed Central

    PubMed Central is a free digital database of full-text scientific literature in biomedical and life sciences.

     

    PubMed is a citation database with millions of journal citations & abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system & preclinical sciences.

     

    Read PubMed Help first.

    DOAJ : Directory of Open Access Journals

    Aims & Scope

    The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals.