History

This resource is a subset of the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook and the Internet Modern History Sourcebook.

A selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.

Resources include an open-access encyclopedia of more than one thousand entries; primary sources, including speeches, court cases, audio recordings, and photographs; bibliographies; timelines; and lists of links to digital archive collections, museums, research centers, and other related resources. The site also includes a section on African American History in the West and a section on Global African History.

Recognized by UNC-Greensboro's Digital Library on American Slavery

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Materials in this website pertain to Mississippi’s civil rights movement, particularly the seminal 1964 Freedom Summer Project in Hattiesburg. The site contains 149 oral history transcripts, some with digital audio, of individuals involved in the movement in Mississippi, along with diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newsletters, posters, journals, photographs, and other items selected from the University of Southern Mississippi’s manuscript collections.

Includes more than 100 manuscript collections documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964. More than 25,000 pages from the Freedom Summer manuscripts -- enough to fill several file cabinets -- are available online. In them you will find official records of organizations such as the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and Congress of Racial Equality (CORE); the personal papers of movement leaders and activists such as Amzie Moore, Mary King and Howard Zinn, letters and diaries of northern college students who went South to volunteer for the summer; newsletters produced in Freedom Schools; racist propaganda, newspaper clippings, pamphlets and brochures, magazine articles, telephone call logs, candid snapshots, internal memos, press releases and much more.

This resource is a subset of the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook and the Internet Modern History Sourcebook.

Resources in women's history.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Access to more than 7,500 manuscript pages, 3,500 books and pamphlets, and 1,200 photographs, Women Working focuses mainly on the role of women in the United States and their effect on economics.

Documents covering the impact of women on the United States military.

Chronological, global approach includes Greek, Roman, Islamic, African, Asian, and modern information and resources.

A freely accessible, community created, educational, non-profit website on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and heterosexual history.

Context and links to full text documents on American independence.

The War of 1812 is often a forgotten war in American history. Database provides content such as correspondence, maps, and government reports. Topics include the lead up to the war, the war itself, and its ramifications.

Includes civil war biographies, battlefield logistics, images, and primary source documents.

Articles are lengthy and contain their own hyperlinked tables of contents, notes, and bibliographies. The writing is informative and objective. The “Timeline” is interactive and rather complex, with links to articles on the topics that appear. The substantial bibliography provides over four thousand items in a number of different languages. A useful site covering a broad range of themes, this is a welcome reference source on World War I.

Untold Stories and Official Histories of WW1 offers substantial digital materials regarding the First World War. Included are 400,000 rare documents, 660 hours of film, and 90,000 personal papers. An excellent, diverse collection of World War I materials.

Full text archive of World War II documents with links to additional helpful resources.

Focuses on the mass incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II with segments on Causes of Incarceration, Learning Center (curriculum materials for teachers and online exhibits), Archive, and Other Resources (supplemental materials such as a glossary and a timeline). The Archive provides access to valuable primary-source materials including videos, oral histories, photographs, and documents; users can search or browse by format or topic, most notably by incarceration facility and camp newspaper.

Full text documents focusing on the Korean War including overviews, timelines, and retrospectives.

Guide to resources on the Vietnam War & "The Things They Carried" by Tim O'Brien.

Full text documents covering all aspects of Operation Desert Shield / Desert Storm including timeline, photos, and information on Gulf War Syndrome.

Chronological listing of full text resources including topics such as Egyptian plumbing, Chinese papermaking, the discovery of oxygen, germ theory and so much more.

Darwin Online brings together in one place Charles Darwin’s complete publications, private papers, and manuscripts, along with reviews of his works and works about him.

Primary documents and trial transcripts.

A collection of documents in history and law from ancient civilizations to the present.

Database of 1,575 digitized pamphlets, broadsides, sheet music, and government publications. This database can be used to explore ideas and campaigns contributing to the passage of the 18th amendment to the US Constitution in 1920 and its repeal in 1933 with the 21st amendment.

Published accounts of trials at the Old Bailey, London’s criminal court until 1913, were originally intended for a popular audience, but evolved into a quasi-official court reporter. This database covers more than 190,000 trials from the period. The database is searchable by keyword, name, place, offense, verdict, punishment, time period, or any combination. Results are displayed as transcriptions, linked to digitized images of the original pages. Lengthy scholarly essays discuss Crime, Justice, and Punishment; London and its Hinterlands; Community Histories; Gender; and the Old Bailey Courthouse. A massive bibliography of mostly British publications supplements the essays. Social historians will find a goldmine here; genealogists can learn exactly why great-granddad got transported.

An interactive exploration of the historical soundscape of New York City during the 1920s. Includes historic video, audio, and documentation revealing on the sounds of industrial, human, and transportation noise of 1920s city life.

Primary resources (photographs, maps, letters, speech transcripts, and pamphlets, among others) as well as scholarly essays.

Documents covering the 1500s to the modern day. Including the Early Modern World, Reformation, Colonization, Enlightenment, Revolution, and Industrialization.

Information and documents on Africa and its people.

Eastern history from ancient times to the present day. Covers the countries of China, Japan, and Korea. Includes information on Eastern religions--Shinto, Daoism, Confucianism, and Buddhism.

Information and documents on India and its people.

This bibliography on all aspects of Irish history is based on the annual “Writings on Irish History,” published in the journal Irish Historical Studies. More than sixty-three thousand citations cover periods from prehistoric times to the present and are comprehensive for works published since 1936. A particular strength of the collection is the coverage of local history publications.

Information and documents about the Islamic faith, its people, and geography.

Information and documents about the Jewish faith, its people, and geography.

Extensive collection of images, texts, and maps document European and American travels to Egypt in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The collection includes photographs, book illustrations, postcards, stereographs, museum and exhibition catalogs, travel guides, travel narratives, and cultural studies of Egypt and Cairo.

Explores the events in the 1980s that culminated in the end of communist rule in Eastern Europe in 1989. Easy to navigate, this site provides sources offering a variety of perspectives relevant to the final collapse of communist control. Features include primary documents translated into English, video interviews with scholars of Eastern European Studies, and case studies of specific events.

From late antiquity to the Age of Exploration. Includes end of the classical world, Byzantium, Renaissance, and the Reformation. Has translations of many texts.

Essays, chronology, and images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

The Mapping Gothic France project is a collaboration between the Media Center for Art History in the Department of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University, the Visual Resources Library at Vassar College, and the Columbia University Libraries. It attempts to depict Gothic space via an online, interactive 3D experience. Stated goals include establishing links between the “architectural space of individual buildings, geo-political space, and the social space of the interaction (collaboration and conflict) between builders and users.” The site developers want users to see the relationship of hundreds of Gothic buildings in terms of sameness and difference within a defined historical period of French history. The visuals are spectacular, as are the 360 degree rotational images. The three main tabs, “Space,” “Time,” “Narrative,” offer ways into the site. “Space” leads to a map with sites in France and Great Britain, on which crosses identify churches. The “Time” button takes one to a dynamic map purporting to show the growth of Gothic France. The link to “Narrative” leads to subsections or subchapters on individual essay themes.

An introduction to medieval theatre. Part of the online history of theatre class at Columbia Gorge Community College.

From human origins to early Christianity. Includes the near east, Egypt, Greece and Rome. Has translations of many texts.