Fire Protection Technology

The mission of the building and fire research programs at NIST is to anticipate and meet the measurement science, standards, and technology needs of the U.S. building and fire safety industries in areas of critical national need. Strategic goals include net-zero energy high-performance buildings, advancing infrastructure delivery and improving construction productivity through information integration and automation technologies, sustainable infrastructure materials, innovative fire protection, and disaster-resilient structures and communities, which includes work on hurricanes, earthquakes, and fires.

The Charles S. Morgan Library supports the research and maintains the archives of the National Fire Protection Association. Located in the NFPA headquarters in Quincy, Massachusetts, the Morgan Technical Library represents one of the largest fire science libraries in the world. The library was established in 1945, and was later named after Charles S. Morgan, a former President of NFPA.

Fire on the Web is a collection of resources from the Building and Fire Research Laboratory's Fire Research Division at NIST. These Web pages provide links to fire related software, experimental fire data and mpeg/quick time movies of fire tests that can be downloaded and/or viewed with a Web browser.

In North Carolina, fire science education and training is offered through community colleges and four-year universities. Community colleges partner with local fire departments and high schools to offer fire academy training and certification as well as diplomas, certificates, and associate degrees in fire science. Fire academy typically lasts three months and is designed to train and prepare firefighters for certification, with an aggressive physical fitness program to help students meet the physical demands of fire service. North Carolina state certifications include Fire Fighter I & II; Hazardous Materials Level I Responder; Rapid Intervention Training; and Incident Command System.

FIREDOC is an online bibliographic database that contains a large collection of building and fire research materials from many sources. The database reflects the 80,000 holdings (published reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and audio/visual items) that have been collected by the Engineering Laboratory's Research Information Service.

FM Global provides comprehensive global commercial and industrial property insurance, engineering-driven underwriting and risk management solutions, groundbreaking property loss prevention research and prompt, professional claims handling.

Lists the requirements for becoming a firefighter in North Carolina.

This site provides digital resources for specific topics related to emergency training.

Firehouse is the firefighter's source for breaking news, podcasts, blogs, webcasts and information on firefighting, training, and jobs.

For Fire Chiefs, Purchasing Committee Members, Trustees, Commissioners, Finance Committees and those whose job it is to buy Trucks, Tools, Turnout Gear and Firefighting Equipment.

The Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute (MFRI) of the University of Maryland is the state's comprehensive training and education system for emergency services. The Institute plans, researches, develops, and delivers quality programs to enhance the ability of emergency service providers to protect life, the environment, and property. Drill of the Month is a service publication of this organization.

The Centre is primarily concerned with the practical problem of reducing fire waste. The main focus of its work, the collection, analysis and dissemination of internationally comparable fire cost statistics, is thus seen as a means to an end: persuading governments to adopt coherent fire strategies aimed at reducing national fire costs.

The Active Fire Mapping Program is an operational, satellite-based fire detection and monitoring program managed by the USDA Forest Service Remote Sensing Applications Center (RSAC) located in Salt Lake City, Utah. The Active Fire Mapping program provides near real-time detection and characterization of wildland fire conditions in a geospatial context for the continental United States, Alaska, Hawaii and Canada. Detectable fire activity across all administrative ownerships in the United States and Canada are mapped and characterized by the program.

ATF is a unique law enforcement agency in the United State Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.

CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack.

Missions include preventing terrorism and enhancing security; managing our borders; administering immigration laws; securing cyberspace; and ensuring disaster resilience. FEMA is part of DHS.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

The Satellite Services Division serves as the primary interface with the user community of environmental satellite data and products. The Division provides, analyses, blended products from polar orbiting and geostationary satellites, and interpretive services. These satellite products are distributed to a diverse user community for a broad range of environmental applications

Each year an average of 100 fire fighters die in the line of duty. To address this continuing national occupational fatality problem, NIOSH conducts independent investigations of fire fighter line of duty deaths. This web page provides access to NIOSH investigation reports and other fire fighter safety resources.

Fire and emergency services data from FEMA

From the US Department of Agriculture Forest Service.
Fire management combines elements of fire prevention, fire suppression and fire use. Wildland fire is inevitable in North American ecosystems. Most wildland fire must be suppressed to meet resource and social objectives. Wise use of fire approximates the historical role of fire and enhances long-term wildland values.

Arson, the act of deliberately setting fire to a building, car or other property for fraudulent or malicious purposes, is a crime in all states. Insurers have an interest in preventing and detecting arson because such fires cause needless loss of life and property and also push up the cost of insurance for homeowners, vehicle owners and owners of commercial buildings.

The mission of the building and fire research programs at NIST is to anticipate and meet the measurement science, standards, and technology needs of the U.S. building and fire safety industries in areas of critical national need.

The National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC), located in Boise, Idaho, is the nation's support center for wildland firefighting. Eight different agencies and organizations are part of NIFC. Decisions are made using the interagency cooperation concept because NIFC has no single director or manager.

The mission is to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance. Look for links to emergency preparedness and chemical safety and others.

The U.S. Drought Monitor, established in 1999, is a weekly map of drought conditions that is produced jointly by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and the National Drought Mitigation Center (NDMC) at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

As an entity of the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency, the mission of the USFA is to provide national leadership to foster a solid foundation for our fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness, and response.

From the U. S. Fire Administration, this page provides statistics about fires.

The U.S. Fire Administration's Library provides information and resources on fire, emergency management and other all-hazards subjects. With our collection of more than 208,000 books, reports, audiovisual materials and indexed articles, the Library supports National Emergency Training Center student and faculty research, classroom lectures, and development of course materials. We invite you to access our Online Public Access Catalog to perform literature searches of our collections.

WFAS is now offering point-based map data in a Google Earth compatible format. The files are updated daily and include current weather, fire danger and fuel moisture observations as well as forecast weather conditions when available.