AHIMA’s primary goal is to provide the knowledge, resources and tools to advance health information professional practice and standards for the delivery of quality healthcare.
AMIA is the professional home of leading informaticians: clinicians, scientists, researchers, educators, students, and other informatics professionals who rely on data to connect people, information, and technology.
For nurses who are committed to their specialty that integrates nursing science, computer science and information science to manage and communicate data, information, knowledge and wisdom in nursing and informatics practice.
HFMA builds and supports coalitions with other healthcare associations and industry groups to achieve consensus on solutions for the challenges the U.S. healthcare system faces today.
HIMSS is a global, cause-based, not-for-profit organization focused on better health through information technology (IT). HIMSS leads efforts to optimize health engagements and care outcomes using information technology.
IMIA provides leadership and expertise to the multidisciplinary, health focused community and to policy makers, to enable the transformation of healthcare in accord with the world-wide vision of improving the health of the world population.
An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 20,500 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards. Its mission is to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. It is the predominant stardards-setting and accrediting body for health care organizations in the US.
The National Association of Health Data Organizations (NAHDO) is a national non-profit membership and educational association dedicated to improving health care data collection and use. NAHDO’s members include state and private health data organizations that maintain statewide health care data bases and stakeholders of these data bases in the public and private sectors. NAHDO and its members are leaders in hospital discharge data reporting systems and emerging All-Payer Claims Data Bases (APCDs).
PHDSC is a national non-profit membership-based organization of federal, state, and local health agencies; professional associations, academia; public and private sector organizations; international members; and individuals. Its goal is to empower the healthcare and public health communities with health information technology standards to improve individual and community health.
The Affordable Care Act puts consumers back in charge of their health care. Under the law, a new “Patient’s Bill of Rights” gives the American people the stability and flexibility they need to make informed choices about their health.
The mission is to produce evidence making health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable by working with the US Department of Health and Human Services and other partners to make information understood and used.
CMS covers 100 million people through Medicare, Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Program, and the Health Insurance Marketplace. To achieve a high quality health care system, we also aim for better care at lower costs and improved health. Go to the "Research, Statistics, Data & Systems" link on the homepage.
This is the website for the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. It is arranged by broad subject areas; go to the "Health" link.
The mission of the Department of Health and Human Services is to help provide the building blocks that Americans need to live healthy, successful lives.
The Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources was designed to include data resources with current utility, or the potential for use by a wide variety of audiences. Databases from continuing departmental data collection projects or program administrative and evaluation activities that met the criterion of broad utility were included in the directory. Such data projects and systems included recurring surveys, public health surveillance systems, disease registries and programmatic data systems sponsored by HHS.
Health information technology (health IT) makes it possible for health care providers to better manage patient care through secure use and sharing of health information. Health IT includes the use of electronic health records (EHRs) instead of paper medical records to maintain people's health information.
Learn about the Rules' protection of individually identifiable health information, the rights granted to individuals, breach notification requirements, Office of Civil Rights (OCR)’s enforcement activities, and how to file a complaint with OCR.
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to: encourage collaborations across communities and sectors; empower individuals toward making informed health decisions; and measure the impact of prevention activities.
On March 23, 2010, President Obama signed the Affordable Care Act. The law puts in place comprehensive health insurance reforms that will roll out over four years and beyond.
NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. It coordinates a 6,000-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.
