A fresh take on the history of modern American gambling, All In provides a closer look at the shifting economic, cultural, religious, and political conditions that facilitated gambling's expansion and prominence in American consumerism and popular culture. (Source: Publisher)
Author William N. Thompson postulates on the impact of gambling on local communities and shows how the U.S. gaming industry is tied to the global market, most notably gaming expansion in Macau and Singapore. The book addresses the various forms of gaming, such as casino-based and online gambling, sports betting, and lotteries. Additional content examines the social issue of problem and pathological gambling and addresses the rehabilitation programs available for the mitigation and treatment of gambling problems. (Source: Amazon.com)
Laymon writes eloquently and honestly about the physical manifestations of violence, grief, trauma, and abuse on his own body. He writes of his own eating disorder and gambling addiction as well as similar issues that run throughout his family. Through self-exploration, storytelling, and honest conversation with family and friends, Heavy seeks to bring what has been hidden into the light and to reckon with all of its myriad sources, from the most intimate--a mother-child relationship--to the most universal--a society that has undervalued and abused black bodies for centuries (Source: Publisher)
Examines the impact of legalized gambling on American culture, describing the appeal of legalized gambling as a tool for politicians to raise revenues and create jobs, discussing a rise in gambling addictions, and explaining how gambling addiction can lead to higher indebtedness and increased amounts of divorces, suicides, and gambling-related crime.
In light of a growing epidemic of teen gambling, this book provides a better understanding of the causes and extent of youth gambling problems, assessment tools to identify teens with gambling addictions and related issues, and strategies for the prevention and treatment of youth who gamble. (Source: Publisher)
The series summarizes and critiques the findings and conclusions of investigators who have attempted to determine the motivations for gambling, both normative and excessive. Dr. Aasved provides a thorough examination of the research efforts and theoretical explanations of leaders in the field of gambling studies.(Source: Publisher)
Gambling is a public health problem characterized by persistent and recurrent maladaptive patterns of gambling. There is a social incentive to reduce current gambling problems and prevent future gambling addiction. In this book, Chapter One begins with an analysis of the risk factors, prevalence, pathophysiology and discusses treatment options for pathological gambling. Chapter Two provides a review on the idea that games should be taxed in accordance to the revenue they generate from addicts, and more effective multidimensional prevention measures should be implemented. Chapter Three focuses on a desire-targeted intervention based on Naikan counseling for disordered gamblers (DING). (Source: Publisher)
This book begins with the question 'Why do people gamble?' and offers many theories proposed by clinicians, laboratory and field researchers, and participants as they seek to explain the motivation behind gambling. The differences between gambling as entertainment and gambling compulsion is a focus of much research. (Source: Publisher)
The Handbook of Internet Gambling consolidates this emerging body of literature into a single reference volume. Its twenty chapters comprise groundbreaking contributions from the world;s leading authorities in the commercial, clinical, political and social aspects of Internet gambling
Vicious Games is based on field research with the people who produce, shape and consume gambling. Rebecca Cassidy explores the gambling industry's affinity with capitalism and the free market and how the UK has led the way in exporting "light touch" regulation and "responsible gambling" around the world (Source: Publisher)
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Disordered Gambling is a complete guide to the current empirical literature relating to the conceptualization, assessment, and treatment of disordered gambling. (Source: Publisher)
Women and Problem Gambling is based on the author's research and theories developed throughout her extensive practice. The insights will be of value to anyone wanting to understand or work with problem gambling in women; from a woman with a problem herself, thorough to family, friends and any healthcare professionals or therapists involved in her care and treatment. (Source: Publisher)
Arguing against a undifferentiated interpretation of pathological gambling as a simple impulse control disorder, he draws examples from fiction, film, and his own practice to demonstrate additional ways gambling can be abused. A radical departure from established views, You Bet Your Life identifies the costs—in dollars, people, families, and credit ratings—of society's failure to address adequately the burdens of gambling. (Source: Publisher)
This book addresses issues related to prevalence, assessment, prevention and treatment of youth gambling problems as well as concerns related to technological changes associated with youth problem gambling.
Addiction Science & Clinical Practice provides a forum for clinically relevant research and perspectives that contribute to improving the quality of care for people with unhealthy alcohol, tobacco, or other drug use and addictive behaviours across a spectrum of clinical settings. (Source: Publisher)
The American Journal on Addictions is the official journal of the American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP), and provides a forum for the dissemination of information in the extensive field of addiction, including topics ranging from codependence to genetics, epidemiology to dual diagnostics, etiology to neuroscience, and much more. (Source: Publisher)
Critical Gambling Studies is an international journal established in 2019 to publish disciplinary and interdisciplinary research on gambling. It aims to address urgent questions raised by the social, technological, legal, and cultural entanglements of contemporary gambling. (Source: Publisher)
International Gambling Studies is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal in gambling studies. Launched by a team of international experts with a commitment to the highest scholarly standards, International Gambling Studies adopts a transnational and comparative approach to the challenges posed by the global expansion of gambling in the 21st century. (Source: Publisher)
International Journal of High Risk Behaviors and Addiction is an authentic clinical journal whose content is devoted to the particular compilation of the latest worldwide and interdisciplinary approaches and findings, including original manuscripts, meta-analyses and reviews, health economic papers, debates, and consensus statements of the clinical relevance of Risky behaviors and addiction. (Source: Publisher)
The journal publishes the latest research, treatments, and public policy issues in addiction medicine, presented in a fully integrated, multi-specialty perspective. Top researchers and respected leaders in addiction issues share their knowledge and insights on the most important research and practical applications.(Source: Publisher)
The aim of the journal is to create a forum for the scientific information exchange with regard to behavioral addictions. The journal is a broad focused interdisciplinary one that publishes manuscripts on different approaches of non-substance addictions, research reports focusing on the addictive patterns of various behaviors, especially disorders of the impulsive-compulsive spectrum, and also publishes reviews in these topics. Coverage ranges from genetic and neurobiological research through psychological and clinical psychiatric approaches to epidemiological, sociological and anthropological aspects. (Source: Publisher)
The Journal of Gambling Studies is an interdisciplinary forum for research and discussion of the many and varied aspects of gambling behavior, both controlled and pathological. Coverage extends to the wide range of attendant and resultant problems, including alcoholism, suicide, crime, and a number of other mental health concerns. (Source: Publisher)
Psychology of Addictive Behaviors publishes peer-reviewed original articles related to the psychological aspects of addictive behaviors. The journal includes articles on the following topics: alcohol use and alcohol use disorders; drug use and drug use disorders; smoking and nicotine use and disorders; eating disorders, and other addictive behaviors. (Source: Publisher)
Links to external sites do not constitute endorsement by Cape Fear Community College (CFCC). The links are provided for informational purposes only and CFCC is not responsible for their content, accuracy, legality or security.