LibGuides: HUM 115 : Critical Thinking: Current & Controversial Issues

Best PRO / CON Databases

SIRS This link opens in a new window
Social, scientific, economic, and political issues worldwide. Contains articles selected from domestic and international newspapers, magazines, and government publications as well as links to carefully selected websites.

Search by keyword or select from publisher-compiled collections on over 100 contemporary controversial topics by choosing the PRO/CON links. Targeted to the general public, middle school, high school and beginning college students, SIRS does not include scholarly academic journals. Searches can be narrowed by the reading level of the articles.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. New reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year. CFCC's subscription includes archived reports from 1923 to present.

Each single-themed, 12,000-word report has a consistent organization: overview; background and chronology; assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, this is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
United States Census
In addition to the population count conducted once every ten years, the U.S. Census office collects business data for an economic census every five years (2002, 2007, 20112, etc.) for every industry. Other economic indicators are updated on a monthly or quarterly basis.
FedStats
Pulls together statistics from more than 100 agencies searchable from a single website. Search by type of information, or select an agency first and search within their data files.
Statistics and Numeric Data - University of Auckland
Provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Web links are arranged by country, region or subject. The database can be searched by a single category, or a combination of categories. All of the content of the database is held in the public domain and is available through the Internet.

Visit the CFCC Library Guide:

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major agricultural & environmental topics.