LibGuides: Vietnam: 1) Political/Historical Context of Vietnam War

Useful Resources and Websites

Vietnam War: Key People and Terms
Sparknote- alphabetically listing of people involved in the war (both American and Vietnamese) and terms commonly used in articles and resources when discussing the Vietnam war.
History.Com - The Vietnam War
Easy to follow written overview of the Vietnam War, its beginnings, major batlles etc and its aftermath. It provides supporting videos clips, speeches/audio files and images.
Tet Offensive: Turning Point in the Vietnam War
Alan Woods analyses the events that led to the Vietnam War and the significance of the Tet Offensive in bringing about the defeat of the US and draws some parallels with Iraq.
Vietnam war; 50 years on, rulers still spreading myths
A recently published alternative view
Battle of Khe Sanh

Questions about how to use ProQuest? Take a look at these Helpful Videos.

In his later years, Civil Rights leader Martin Luther King Jr. joined in with those speaking out against the war: this is one of his speeches

Veterans' Resources
by Bob Hudson Last Updated Nov 18, 2024 173 views this year
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
by Bob Hudson Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 30 views this year

American Experience | PBS | Last Days in Vietnam
Full film about America's exit from Vietnam.
Anti-Vietnam War Protests in the San Francisco Bay Area & Beyond
The Pacifica Radio/UC Berkeley Social Activism Sound Recording Project
Asian Studies WWW VL - ANU College of Asia and the Pacific - ANU
Virtual Library
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
A collection of documents in history and law from ancient civilizations to the present.
Background Notes
Information on countries provided by the U.S. Department of State.
Country Studies
In-depth analysis of 85 countries including history, from the Library of Congress
Moratorium and Peace March on Washington 11/15/1969
Portal to Asian Internet Resources
PAIR offers scholars, students and the interested public more than six thousand professionally selected, cataloged and annotated online resources within 25 different subtopic areas
SouthEast Asian Images & Texts
University of Wisconsin Digital Collection
The Vietnam Center & Archive: Virtual Vietnam Archive
Texas Tech University collection with over 2.7 million pages of scanned materials.
Vietnam Studies, Law at War: Vietnam 1964-1973
Major General George S. Prugh, Dept. of the Army, Washington, D.C.,1975
Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection
University of Washington database contains leaflets and newspapers that were distributed on the campus during the decades of the 1960s and 1970s.
WGBH Open Vault Search Results
WGBH media library and archives: The Vietnam Collection