This is the "Slave Deeds Database Files" page of the "New Hanover County Slave Deeds" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Hanover County Slave Deeds   Tags: grantee, grantor, plantations  

Based on a survey of records at the New Hanover County Register of Deeds Office
Last Updated: Sep 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cfcc.edu/Deeds Print Guide RSS Updates

Slave Deeds Database Files Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Slave Deeds of New Hanover County - Series One

Prior to the compilation of the present work, this database was published in short volumes (see right) of approximately 1,500 entries. These volumes contain only the most necessary of the database fields. However, during the preparation of the third volume, this method no longer appeared practical, nor did the editors consider the abridged format a good representation of the information compiled within  the electronic files

Further, an evaluation of the work remaining to complete the entire database to the end of the era of slavery would require the publishing and distribution of many short volumes. The format of the printed database was changed to single large printed volumes (Series I, Series II, etc.) that contained all the data from multiple electronic files and have easily searchable sections

A review of the previously compiled volumes of the Slave Deeds of New Hanover County, North Carolina Database with the old ID numbers of 1-3987 was undertaken in preparation for this edition. Duplicate records were found 
in Volume 1; thus, a page by page review of the deed books that comprised that volume was required. As a result of this review, duplicate entries and a small number of erroneous entries were identified and removed (see Appendix). The total number of entries included herein is 6,607.

Series One - Printed Edition

 

Division of Land & Dowers

Credits: Compiled and edited by Christine Ingram Hockaday, verified by William G. Koch


"The Division of Land and Dowers contains the record of judgments made by the Courts of Pleas and Quarter concerning the division of property left in a deceased person’s estate when a will is not registered before his or her death. If undetermined, the Court will send an administrator to do a return and create an inventory of property. The Courts will also determine whether or not a widow is adequately cared for with what was left to her in the will, and changes will be made if necessary. The legal dispute of heirs surrounding their inheritances is also covered in these volumes.  There are two volumes of the Division of Land and Dowers house in the archive of the New Hanover County Register of Deeds. This spreadsheet contains all the entries from both volumes that contain references to enslaved persons."
 

Use of These Documents

Permission to download, copy and use these documents for educational and research purposes is hereby granted, provided that copies are not altered, and that Cape Fear Community College and the New Hanover County Register of Deeds are credited when the material is used. 

Sale of the documents is prohibited.

 

Upcoming Events

Learn more about the project at the following events, open to the public:

Saturday - September 19, 2014 10 am

  • African American Genealogy and Heritage Study - (Pender County Public Library, Burgaw Branch, Local History Room)

Thursday - October 2, 2014 2 pm

  • Fayetteville State University - (Charles W. Chesnutt Library in the J.C. Jones Board of Trustees Room)

Friday - October 10, 2014 1 pm

  • Cape Fear Community College

Monday - November 10, 2014 6 pm

  • New Hanover County Library (Northeast Branch)

Need more information?  Contact Let It Be Known.

 

Slave Deeds of New Hanover County - Volume One

Edited by William G. Koch

Compiled by David C. Becks, Emma J. Brock, Elese L. Brown, Frank C. Brown, Aaron M. Burgess, Kyle A. Byrd, Jason C. Capps, John K. Caruthers, Chandler P. Charles, Charles B. Cline, Charles P. Daughtry, Kye D. Gardner, Steven A. Green Sr., Eboni A. Gilliam, Jonathan E. Godwin, Tyler S. Harding,Linda Hickman, Tyrell R. Horton, Christine L. Ingram, William G. Koch, Debra L. Larue, Alexander D. Lyman, Kendra R. McMillian, Deanna S. Moore, Tanner P. Myers, Marvin E. Portillo, David E. Powell, Gregory D. Powell, David A. Richmond, Christopher F. Roberge, Shannon T. Shaughnessy, Shelley R. Sherman, Cameron L. Shields, Jasmyn N. Spencer, Allison M. Sutton, Brian A. Swan, Jennifer Vivas, Pamela H. Whitley

 

Slave Deeds of New Hanover County - Volumes Two & Three

Compiled and Edited by Christine L. Ingram,  William G. Koch & Caroline Napier Wine

 

Slave Deeds of New Hanover County - Series Two, Volume One

EDITORS
Jaclyn Chavez
Natalie C. Emerick
Shane Kelly
Darielle B. Greene
Jonathan W. Nowokunski
Matthew A. Sloan
Robynn L. Watson


COVER ART
Michael Rigsbee


SENIOR EDITORS
Christine L. Ingram Hockaday
William G. Koch

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip