LibGuides: New Hanover County Slave Deeds: Supplements

Online Backscanned Deeds at the New Hanover County Register of Deeds Office

Scanned Deeds
View and print any original page.
For best viewing results install AlternaTIFF

Supplements to Volume One

Please note that there has been no attempt to regularize spelling of names in these documents.

Shape Files of Historic Plantations

Plantations of the Lower Cape Fear

The following shape files have been created so researchers might locate the approximate sites of historic plantations throughtout the Cape Fear Region. The geodata for the shape files was derived from an extensive comparison of archival maps and secondary sources with modern shape files of the landscape and aerial images. Each group working on the project verified the data of the other.

Database Complied by:

Ammon Baker, Deshawn Ballard, Tonya Brehmer, Justin Bullard,
Quinn Casey, Jarod Fornes, Christian Hopper, Rachel Horne, Jade McClendis, Chris McDermott, Zachary Meert, Riley Preble, Jeniffer Rodriguez

Verification and GIS Shape File Creation by:

Vaughn Jones, Sara Mabee, Joseph Mabry, Holly Willis (Mouzon)
Victoria Doran and Aniela Wilkos (Sprunt/Wimble)
Reyna Bravo, VickMarie Gonzalez, Melissa Sparkman (Collet)
Leslie Benegasi, Matthew Grandin, Larry Moeller (Strothers/Waddell)

Sample Tax Document - 1863

Northwest Tax Assessment 1863

Historian Janet Seapker is currently researching documents from the history of Brunswick and Columbus Counties at the State Archives. The image below, courtesy of Ms.Seapker, shows a tax list from 1863 that details names and locations of owners from the townships of North West and Shallotte, as well as ages and names of the slaves.

From Miscellaneous records, State Archives of North Carolina.

Work Completed as of June 4, 2014

This is the full version (not just the index) that is permanently housed in the archives of the New Hanover County Register of Deeds. The database contains 6,607 entries.

Graph from NodeXL

TIF File

This network graph shows all the slave deeds listed in Series I between grantors John and Samuel Ashe (triangles) and a number of grantees (points). Network analysis is a useful tool for illustrating the familial relationships shared by grantors and grantees. NodeXL, an open source template for Microsoft® Excel® 2007, 2010 and 2013 designed for analysis of social networks, was used to produce this graph.

1734-1776 Grantor-Grantee Network Graph

Early Maps of North Carolina

Edward Moseley, 1737
A New and Correct Map of the Province of North Carolina drawn from the Original of Colo. Mosely's.

Maps below can be used to locate plantations cited in the New Hanover County database of slave deeds.

Cape Fear River, 1798
A map of Cape Fear River and its vicinity from the Frying Pan Shoals to Wilmington. 1798.
Chart of his Majesties Province of North Carolina... 1738
Depicts the North Carolina coast with some inland towns, landowners, and rivers. An "Indian Town" is shown near Edenton. Depths shown by soundings. Includes rhumb lines and several engravings of ships. At lower right are printed detailed "Directions to Sail into all the Navigable Inlets in this Chart."
First Actual Survey of the State of North Carolina, 1808
To David Stone and Peter Brown, Esq.: this first actual survey of the state of North Carolina taken by the subscribers is respectfully dedicated by their humble servants, Jona. Price and John Strother. 1808.
First Actual Survey of the State of North Carolina. 1798
To David Stone and Peter Brown Esqrs. This First Actual Survey of the State of North Carolina Taken by the Subscribers is respectfully dedicated By their humble Servants Jona. Price, John Strother. 1798.
Henry Mouzon, 1775
An Accurate Map of North and South Carolina With Their Indian Frontiers, Shewing in a distinct manner all the Mountains, Rivers, Swamps, Marshes, Bays, Creeks, Harbours, Sandbanks and Soundings on the Coasts, with The Roads and Indian Paths; as well as The Boundary or Provincial Lines, The Several Townships and other divisions of the Land in Both the Provinces; the whole from Actual Surveys by Henry Mouzon and Others
John Collet, 1770
A Compleat map of North-Carolina from an actual survey
New Map of the State of North Carolina, 1833
A New Map of the State of North Carolina. Constructed from Actual Surveys, authentic Public Documents and private Contributions by Robt. H. B. Brazier. Published under the Patronage of the Legislature, by John Mac Rae. 1833.

Brunswick County

Brunswick County Slaveholders - 1790 U.S. Census

Digital Library on American Slavery

Digital Library on American Slavery
The Digital Library on American Slavery (DLAS) is an expanding resource compiling independent collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface. DLAS houses tens of thousands of records relating to all 15 slave states and Washington, D.C. as well as a number of northern states. DLAS contains detailed personal information about over 100 thousand individuals, including enslaved people, enslavers, free people of color, and more.

The goal of the Digital Library on American Slavery is to bring together and make freely accessible public records related to enslavement, with an emphasis upon the names and stories of the enslaved. DLAS strives to be a documentation project, not an interpretive effort. The team works with researchers to make data sets available for personal research.

Each project housed within DLAS includes a data dictionary and user guide tailored to that data set or type of record. A detailed history of each project is also available.