Science DVDs - Annotated Videography of CFCC Collection

QM 25 .A35 2004

DVD Atlas of Human Anatomy

6-part series

Shows dissections of unembalmed human bodies. Gives a three-dimensional view by having the specimen rotate relative to the camera.

Contents : DVD 1. The upper extremity (2 hours, 10 min.) -- DVD 2. The lower extremity (2 hours, 28 min.) -- DVD 3. The trunk (2 hours, 38 min.) -- DVD 4. The head and neck, pt. 1 (2 hours, 40 min.) -- DVD 5. The head and neck, pt. 2 (2 hours, 41 min.) -- DVD 6. The internal organs (2 hours, 32 min.).

QM 557 .V57 2005

Visual Histology

26-part series

Covers the entire scope of the body's histologic organization in full color; it describes cells, tissues and organs in a logical ascending order of biological complexity. Each half-hour program ends with a short practical quiz that allows viewers to test themselves as a segment is completed.

Contents : v. 1. Use of the light microscope -- v. 2. The cell -- v. 3. Epithelial tissue -- v. 4. Connective tissue -- v. 5. Blood -- v. 6. Cartilage -- v. 7. Bone -- v. 8. Muscle -- v. 9. Nerve -- v. 10. Skin -- v. 11. Circulatory system -- v. 12. Respiratory system -- v. 13. Oral cavity -- v. 14. Esophagus & stomach -- v. 15. Small & large intestine -- v. 16. Liver & gall bladder -- v. 17. Pancreas -- v. 18. Urinary system -- v. 19. Lymph nodes, spleen, & thymus -- v. 20. Male reproductive system -- v. 21. Ovary & fallopian tube -- v. 22. Uterus, cervix, vagina & mammary gland -- v. 23. Endocrine system -- v. 24. Ear, nose & tongue -- v. 25. The eye -- v. 26. The final examination.

QP 34.5 .H85

through .H859 2009

The Human Body : How It Works

9-part series

(.H85) – Cells, Tissues & Skin – ( .H852) – The Immune System – (H853) – Human Development and the Reproductive System – (.H854) – The Respiratory System – (.H855) – The Circulatory System – (.H856) – The Skeletal and Muscular Systems – (.H857) – Digestion and Nutrition – (.H858) – The Endocrine System – (.H859) The Nervous System

QP 34.5 .I57 2007

Inside the Living Body

Traces one "everywoman's" story and examines the everyday workings of a living, functioning body. Microscopic filmmaking, advanced medical technology, and state-of-the-art cardiac tomography imaging techniques are used to reveal unique perspectives on how our bodies function, grow, and mature from infancy through puberty, adulthood, and old age.

QP 34.5 .N48 2004

New Living Body

10-volume series

Vol. 1 – Bones and Joints – Vol. 2 – Muscles – Vol. 3 – Skin – Vol. 4 – Breathing – Vol. 5 – Digestion – Vol. 6 – Blood – Vol. 7 – The Brain – Vol. 8 – The Senses – Vol. 9 – Homeostasis – Vol. 10 – Reproduction : Designer Babies

QP 86 .A45 2004

The Aging Process

Explains the effects of aging on the human mind and body, explores the "damage" and "cell clock" theories about why cells wear out, and examines the lifestyle habits that affect both longevity and the quality of life; these include exercise, regular checkups for cancer, proper diet, moderate drinking, and no smoking.

QP 88.5 .F589 2007

Fitzpatrick Skin Typing and Aging Analysis

Viewers learn about the Fitzpatrick system which is based on skin color, unaltered eye and hair color, ethnicity, and response to ultra violet light without sun protection. The 6 skin types are discussed. The 2nd half of the video covers 2 primary aging analysis systems, the Rubin Classification of Aging Analysis, and the Glogau Classification System.

QP 90.5 .F58 2007

Fluids and Electrolytes Balance

3-disc series

Provides nursing students, new nurses, and others with the fundamental information they need to begin building their understanding of the role fluids and electrolytes play in the health of a body. Disc 1. Basics (19:45 min.) -- Disc 2. Fluid volume imbalances (21:00 min.) -- Disc. 3. Electrolyte imbalances (21:20 min.).

QP 102 .G86 2008

Gunther's ER : The Anatomy of Medical Emergencies

3-disc series

Famous for his invention of tissue plastination and for his elaborate human dissection exhibits, Gunther von Hagens has turned death into a tool for studying life. In this three-part series, the renowned anatomist uses well-preserved human cadavers to shed light on medical crisis management. Approaching his "patients" in the manner of an emergency room doctor, von Hagens reveals the effects of various injuries and trauma and demonstrates lifesaving measures an ER team would likely take. Contains clinically explicit language and demonstrations.

QP 112 .M97 2007

Mysterious Human Heart

3-disc series

Each of the three programs that make up "The mysterious human heart focuses on a different aspect of what we thought we knew, what we know now, and what we're on the verge of learning about the heart. This material is presented through the real-life dramas of people who suddenly learn that a normal, functioning heart is not something that can be taken for granted. In Episode 1, we examine the heart as a muscle - pumping more than 100,000 times a day, pushing approximately five quarts of blood on an endless path delivering oxygen to every cell in the human body. This hour tells the story of the normal heart thought the histories of three people with end-stage heart failure, where a pump may be a temporary remedy, but in the long term, a transplant is often a necessity. In Episode 2, a look at the physiological electrical mechanism that keep a heart beating regularly and efficiently and what happens when this most essential rhythm of life goes awry. In episode 3, the focus is on atherosclerosis, the silent blockage of the coronary arteries, which can trigger devastating and sometimes fatal heart attacks.

QP 251 .M57 2004

Miracle of Life

Shows the actual conception and development of a baby. Looks inside the male and female reproductive organs to show the formation of sperm and the passage of a fertilized egg through the fallopian tube. Uses a microscope to observe DNA, chromosomes, and other minute body details building up to the moment of birth.

QP 356.3 .A55 2008

Animated Neuroscience and the Action of Nicotine, Cocaine, and Marijuana in the Brain

Illustrates the major functions of the brain and shows how its principal cells, the neurons, communicate with each other through electrical and chemical signals. In the second part, animated molecules of nicotine, cocaine and marijuana travel a route from the external environments through the body to the brain, where viewers learn about the cellular targets of these drugs, and how each drug interacts with them and subsequently affects the body

QP 376 .B71 through .B76 2005

The Brain (series) :

The Sexual Brain, Dreams,

Memory,

Inside Information,

The Addicted Brain

Sexual Brain - Describes how the study of the brain provides a partial explanation that separates cultural and social gender differences from physiological ones. Shows that sexual differences exist between male and female brain structure. Dreams - Why do we dream? This program examines the theories, from Freud's The interpretation of dreams to today's neuroscience laboratory findings. It covers a variety of theories about the physiological, chemical, and psychological reasons for, and results of dreams. Memory - Brain researchers explore physiological aspects of memory. Inside Information - explains research on the brain's processes: how individual parts of the brain work, how the brain uses pattern recognition rather than logic to interpret reality, which experiments with computer analogs have been successful and which have failed, and why. Addicted Brain - Shows how the human brain manufactures and uses drugs. Explores the cutting edge of developments in the biochemistry of addiction and addictive behavior.

QP 376 .B765 2003

The Mind's Eye (BBC)

Dr. Susan Greenfield reveals the tricks and shortcuts the brain uses to construct its version of reality. She also discusses how vision works.

QP 376 .H69 2011

ScienceNow :  How Does the Brain Work?

Magic and the Brains - featuring magicians Penn and Teller; Artificial Intelligence; Mind Control; and Profile: Neuroscientist David Eagleman.

QP 376 .I58 2010

Into the Mind

3-disc series

Part 1 – Emotions : Discusses the history of classic and sometimes disturbing experiments on the nature of fear, love and empathy. Included are the tests done by John B. Watson on 9-month-old "Little Albert," who was conditioned to feel fear; the findings on gambling, logic, and decision-making of António Damásio; and Harry Harlow's work with monkeys and their surrogate mothers that helped change thinking about the value of cuddling a newborn baby. Part 2 – Mind Control : Discusses the history of psychological experiments targeting the control of the mind, including psychosurgery, electroshock therapy, Pavlov's tests, and drug testing. Part 3 – Broken Brains : Head injury, epilepsy, experimental surgery gone wrong. In this program, host Michael Mosley provides evidence that these medical misfortunes have helped break new ground in understanding how healthy brains work.

QP 408 .M425 2008

Brain Rules

Dr. John Medina, a molecular biologist, shares his lifelong interest in how the brain sciences might influence the way we teach our children and the way we work.

QP 624 .D145 2004

DNA

5-disc series

Explores the discovery of DNA, the pioneer efforts of genetic engineering, the foundations of the Human Genome Project, genetic links for some types of cancer and the controversial future potential of DNA in improving humankind.

QP 624 .D69 2007

Double Helix

Dramatization, based on the book by James D. Watson, of the diligent research, creative analysis, and perseverance of James Watson and Francis Crick that led to the discovery (structure of DNA). With the help of their colleague, Maurice Wilkins, they also earned the 1962 Nobel Prize.